My first salt water tank

Maverick2403

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I'm new to the reefing community and have been wanting to get one for years. I finally gave in since my new, and first, baby loves fish tanks. I was able to get a used 36 gallon bow front tank and stand and fin lay got water and rock in it. I'll post on here updates prob every couple days and look forward to any advice from y'all. So I have read to put the sand in after the rock and before water to help with cloudiness. I however didn't do that bc I forgot about the sand until the tank was 2/3 full. I'm using a aquaclear 70 HOB filter and have a 1400 GPH powerhead for the tank. I'll prob have to get a slimmer soon and plan on fish and coral for the tank. The rock is dry rock and the sand is fiji pink live sand plus I put a bottle of bacteria in the tank to help the cycle start up. Here are pictures about 10 hours after I filled it and it's starting to clear up already which I'm excited about.

IMG_3378.PNG

IMG_3374.JPG

IMG_3376.JPG

OP
OP
Maverick2403

Maverick2403

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I woke up to a much clearer tank. Now my and the wife, who has hated this idea until now, are debating on adding some rock to the left side. I have about 80 lbs of rock left over. I got a pretty good deal on the rock so figured more would give more option on aqua scaping. Any thoughts On adding some on top of the left rock base or not. The left side is currently 2 pieces and the right is 2 big pieces and 1 small on the very far right bottom. Kinda hate the whole idea of having to cycle the tank, makes it take to long to get running. Lol

IMG_3381.JPG

OP
OP
Maverick2403

Maverick2403

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0