New 190L Cube Tank - Sump Design Question

Robo_Reefer

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all,

I am a beginner but have had a basic reef tank two decades ago. Just getting back into the hobby and about to build a new SPS 190L set-up with a Nuvo INT 50.

I'm looking for some guidance for my sump/refugium. I hear there are some fun/good benefits to having slower flow in the refugium? As such I am planning on having a slow flow refugium, and a high flow area for the skimmer. Is this a good idea? Or should I just have the same flow rate through both the Skimmer zone and the refugium? If they are the same flow, then the benefit is that they can both be connected in line.

But if they are different flow rates, then they would need to be in separate zones, and each zone would need its own different intake (see below), which is okay with me. To do this I have designed the sump below, I like it, but I thought I should check with the experts before I make any silly rookie errors (thanks for the guidance). BTW, I'll have a contractor build the sump to order with plexiglass. Note that I plan on having a water proof light inside the refugium to grow some chaeto.

Advice is appreciated. Please do let me know if I'm making any obvious mistakes, since I'm definitely a rookie reefer.

Tank details: Planned for SPS dominated
TANK: Nuvo INT 50 (Dimensions - 23.6" x 23.6" 35.4")
LIGHTS:
(4x24W T5 total) Two 2x24W dimmable T5
1 Kessil A360X

OP
OP
Robo_Reefer

Robo_Reefer

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Perhaps I put this question in the wrong place?

Maybe the Mods can help me move this into the "New to Saltwater & Reef Aquariums?" forum?

Dom

Full Time Reef Keeper
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello and welcome.