New here

HunterW

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi All!
My story is different; as in 'everything old is new again', and so is my learning curve on salt tanks. Been in the fish game for close to...let's just say 40+ years, BUT, I've been away from all things fishy due to serious illnesses.
I plan on doing either a 60 gal cube or build my own faux drop off. I'm moving next year; and so I don't want to get anything too big til after my move, but I don't want to wait 'til next October 2020.

I've managed 3 fish depts/stores, trained ferocious parrots; babysat a sick lion, and have been trapped in a room with a leopard cut that got away from the vet...yea really, but getting back in the salt game intimidates me. It really does. There's so many new gadgets on the market, but I don't buy like a fool, I am a researcher.

I'm going to do a seahorse species tank, either 60-70 cube, or a 48 drop down. I've got my specs, and going to build it myself with help from a friend of mine that is building himself a catamaran, so I count myself lucky there.
I need advice on which you guys think the dwarfs will like better size wise, i.e. I have some reservations about a drop down for them, and flow issues in that sort of tank. (Hence saying I may stick with a larger cube; & then that is a no brainer for a cube. I would just build a drop down for another use.

Thanks for listening, and if any of you have already built a drop down, let me know...OR if you do NOT recommend it for the horses, let me know that too. (P.S.) I know their care/enviroment needs already, been there, done that in the far past.)

Last edited:

Peace River

Thrive Master
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Hi All!
My story is different; as in 'everything old is new again', and so is my learning curve on salt tanks. Been in the fish game for close to...let's just say 40+ years, BUT, I've been away from all things fishy due to serious illnesses.