New member from NC

D.Hunter83

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone, names Daniel. I'm completely new to saltwater and reefs all together. I wanted to start with a big tank but my wife decided she really liked the nano tanks. So now i have a used jbj 28 gallon nano cube (really not happy with the rear chambers). After some reaserch I went out and bought the equipment i wanted/needed which is as follows:
hydor rotating return heads
reef octopus hob classic 1000 skimmer
jbj auto top off with aqua lifter pump
eheim jager 100watt heater
jebao pp4 wavemakerand
kessil a160we (removed the hood all together)
20lb live sand
Seachem matrix carbon
Seachem puregen
Aquaforest life bio fil
And a good bit of dry rock.

I have a few issues already and it hasn't been cycling for 2 weeks yet.

Skimmer is pouring out tons of micro bubbles and isnt skimming, heater is set to 81 but tank wont get over 75, return pumps are making bubbles. O think i've watched every video and read almost every article I could find about various issues and still no luck. I find myself on this forum most so i joined. I'll try not to start new threads that aren't needed. So thanks for having me and any input or advice will be taken to heart.

20170807_074841.jpg

Annahra

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome!!

Skimmer could be breaking in. Have you dosed anything yet? Mine went crazy right after I got it and I traced it to underwater epoxy.

Could be a calibration issue with your heater, but also think about how you're testing temperature. Are you sure your thermometer is accurate?

Salty1962

Wrasse and SPS Lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R! Your skimmer is going to create allot of overflow when it's new, it takes a few days for it to settle down. You may want to put a sponge between your skimmer output and the return pump to cut down on micro bubbles. Good Luck!

welcom.jpg

ngoodermuth

5000 Club Member
View Badges