New to hobby! I'm nervous!

Fragmented Wolf

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey, everybody.

As the title states, I'm new to the hobby... Well, I guess that's not entirely true. I remember having a saltwater aquarium in my house in the mid 90s and recall my mother killing a fish nearly every month! Hopefully I don't continue that trend. I actually feel like it's impossible, actually. We have so many resources available today that we just didn't back then.

I've got the 13.5 gallon Evo all in one that's yet to even be cycled, but I'm hoping water will be in it around a 5 days from now! I plan on having two Clowns, a Blenny, and not sure about a possible fourth fish... What you guys think? Four fish too crowded or could it work?

Also planning my corals later down the line. I LOVE toxic green hammers and I think Zoanthids are awesome.

Welp, any tips for a new guy?
Some things to mention. I plan on quarantining all my fish and corals. I've already purchased a new 10 gallon for that purpose. I'm going to attempt copper treatment and once that's complete, finish up with general cure in food and in water.

Oh! And I wanted to know what everyone's preferred method is for putting rocks together in awesome shapes. I want a sick overhang in the tank. I've heard everything from zip-ties to rods of some sort that are inserted after dripping holes?

Thanks for reading!

Crabs McJones

I'm so shi-nay
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R!
ezgif-2-1c3e6bb1cc81.gif

Birdbrains?

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey, re-welcome to the best hobby ever XD

I would suggest that you skip all those ideas and get some good sized clownfishes and a Nem for that tank. Clownfishes will not act natural with other fishes in the tank and you can always make a community tank if you want to mix several fish- and stinger- species :)