Pectinia care

SnoQ

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm looking for feedback on how difficult Pectinia are to keep. My LFS just got a rainbow one in stock that is gorgeous, but pricey given it's rarity. I have been clearing out some of my more common corals so I can start adding some "show" colonies, but this one is a big jump and I'd hate to get something I'm not experienced enough to keep healthy. Not only do I want to be out the money, I'd hate to be the person to kill a coral as beautiful as this one is.

e.litvin

unregistered
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I heard they're are similar to chalices, low-med lighting and likewise with flow.

I'll be following along to hear some other opinions out there

OP
OP
SnoQ

SnoQ

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well, looks like I won't be getting it after all. We just bought a new house and I've been told it's the coral or the new furniture I want to order. We really need the furniture so I have to go with that option. That's what I get for talking out loud about what I'm thinking of buying. Lesson learned, keep silent! :) This is the one I was thinking of buying - Rainbow Pectinia - Barrier Reef Aquariums.

bct15

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That is a very nice pectina but you can find one just like it for a lot less money. I have two pectina corals and have had them both for well over a year. They are considered an expert only coral, but recently seem to be more hardy...similar to elegance coral.