Pectinia care

Discussion in 'General LPS Discussion' started by SnoQ, Apr 2, 2013.

1. SnoQ

SnoQ Well-Known Member

I'm looking for feedback on how difficult Pectinia are to keep. My LFS just got a rainbow one in stock that is gorgeous, but pricey given it's rarity. I have been clearing out some of my more common corals so I can start adding some "show" colonies, but this one is a big jump and I'd hate to get something I'm not experienced enough to keep healthy. Not only do I want to be out the money, I'd hate to be the person to kill a coral as beautiful as this one is.

Tags:

2. mpoletti

mpoletti Just a drunkard R2R Supporter Reef Spotlight Award R2R Excellence Award

They're quite easy in my experience.

3. e.litvin

e.litvin unregistered

I heard they're are similar to chalices, low-med lighting and likewise with flow.

I'll be following along to hear some other opinions out there

4. Tinola

Tinola Well-Known Member

I heard they're very easy to care for...

5. SnoQ

SnoQ Well-Known Member

Well, looks like I won't be getting it after all. We just bought a new house and I've been told it's the coral or the new furniture I want to order. We really need the furniture so I have to go with that option. That's what I get for talking out loud about what I'm thinking of buying. Lesson learned, keep silent! :) This is the one I was thinking of buying - Rainbow Pectinia - Barrier Reef Aquariums.

DSC reef and BlennyKravitz like this.
  6. mfinn

mfinn likes zoanthids R2R Supporter Partner Member 2018 Build Thread Contributor

That is a nice one.

7. bct15

bct15 Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Showcase Editor

That is a very nice pectina but you can find one just like it for a lot less money. I have two pectina corals and have had them both for well over a year. They are considered an expert only coral, but recently seem to be more hardy...similar to elegance coral.