Planning Fish for a 90-gallon Reef

Soren

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I know this is an age-old discussion with no specific answer, but how do I narrow down a list of fish for a specific size of aquarium?

Currently, I am in the planning phase for a 90-gallon reef tank intended mostly for hardy, easy beginner fishes and corals. I know that research and patience are the best considerations to make, and I am in no hurry. Like is probably common as a beginner, I would like as many fish as possible, especially as multiples of the same type when possible. I am just researching now, so I am looking for suggestions to help avoid failures. My intentions are to have a peaceful reef with mostly fish in the 2-4 inch length range. I would like to also include anemones, hardy corals, hermit crabs, shrimp, snails, starfish, and/or urchins in reasonable combinations and amounts for a reef of this size. More questions on the invertebrates later...

On the linked build thread, I have a list of possible fish as follows in order of preference:
2 of Black and White Ocellaris Clownfish (Amphiprion ocellaris)
1 of Purple Tang (Zebrasoma xanthurum) [I already have this ~4-inch fish that will be transferred over from my 75-gallon]
1 of Kole Yellow Eye Tang (Ctenochaetus strigosus) or 1 of Bristletooth Tomini Tang (Ctenochaetus tominiensis)
1 of Foxface Lo (Siganus vulpinus) or 1 of Bicolor Foxface (Siganus uspi) or 1 of One Spot Foxface (Siganus unimaculatus)
1-2 of Engineer Goby (Pholidichthys leucotaenia)
2-3 of Chalk Bass (Serranus tortugarum)
2-3 of Neon Goby (Elcatinus oceanops)
2-4 of Yellowstriped Cardinalfish (Ostorhincus cyanosoma)
2 of Blue/Green Black-axil Chromis (Chromis sp.) or 2 of Yellowtail Damselfish (Chrysiptera parasema) or 2 of Blue Sapphire Damselfish (Chrysiptera cf. springeri)