Powerheads: How many do you have in your reef?

BRS

How many powerheads do you have in your saltwater aquarium?

  • None

    Votes: 35 3.6%
  • 1-2

    Votes: 537 55.8%
  • 3-5

    Votes: 335 34.8%
  • 6-8

    Votes: 48 5.0%
  • 9-10

    Votes: 1 0.1%
  • 10+

    Votes: 7 0.7%

  • Total voters
    963

UK softy bloke

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Apr 21, 2021
Messages
53
Reaction score
111
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
England
Water movement in a saltwater reef aquarium is important on so many levels so using the right powerheads in the right configuration for your tank is a pretty big deal! That being said there is not a "one size fits all" solution when it comes to the number of powerheads you need, which brands you use or where they should be placed. For the most part anyway. But it should still be interesting to see how many powerheads are members are using!

1. How many powerheads do you have in your saltwater aquarium? (what size tank do you have)

2. Which powerheads are you using?



Screenshot 2021-09-08 at 10-11-43 nero5_topAngle_guard-scaled jpg (JPEG Image, 2560 × 1620 pix...png
Just one tunze 6040 in my 40 gallon softy tank, seems enough for them.
 

saltyfins

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Feb 2, 2020
Messages
400
Reaction score
523
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
what the??? I am way underpowered comparing to some people here. For my 95g cube I am setting up, I plan on two mp40. I guess I need a third. LOL
That's exactly what I was just thinking!! and 1/2 my stuff seems to be blown around ....probably I should just move them around and see what happens. Sand storm I'm sure lol
 

jt8791

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Dec 1, 2020
Messages
395
Reaction score
147
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Sabattus
No power heads at the moment, just an ac50 and 2 ac110s for now. Rubble rock in the 50 and 110s are fuges. Pulled the 2 koralia nano wave pumps out when I added the rbta, thinking I have enough flow for now.

Planning on a mp10 at some point, maybe 2 eventually. I lost the cvt transmission in the car so had to hold off on equipment upgrades, made it just far enough to trade it in. 30 gallon long
 

mindme

Well-Known Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 30, 2020
Messages
542
Reaction score
554
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
what the??? I am way underpowered comparing to some people here. For my 95g cube I am setting up, I plan on two mp40. I guess I need a third. LOL

I wouldn't worry about it that much. Adding more powerheads will often times just cause them to work against each other. This can be good for causing turbulent/random flow, however in terms of overall flow it's not really adding to it.

I use only 2 MP40's in my 180g, and they are pointed at each other so they cancel each other out a little. Each side randomly changes power, so they create turbulence in different parts of the tank. I also get a little flow from my return pump. The only benefit I would get from adding more would be getting more random/turbulent flow. Maybe in a few years my coral will have grown enough to justify it.

If you have dead spots, then you might want to address that with more powerheads. Maybe something for behind the rocks etc, that kind of thing.
 

Freenow54

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 5, 2021
Messages
219
Reaction score
182
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Canada
what the??? I am way underpowered comparing to some people here. For my 95g cube I am setting up, I plan on two mp40. I guess I need a third. LOL
A very knowledgeable member Mr. Ridle hope spelling correct ( and he does solve a lot of them lol ), and scientist said you need enough flow to move the sand. Of course I read that as then tilt it enough to stop that from happening
 

noopsyche

Well-Known Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 27, 2018
Messages
640
Reaction score
1,177
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
无 - 零 - Zilch

根本没有动力头

目前正在建造(在初始循环阶段)一个完全随机流量发生器喷嘴流动的罐,具有非常酷的双闭环。


20210909_102722.jpg
20210723_132709.jpg
20210909_102649.jpg


在下面的签名中构建链接
;哇
 

jt8791

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Dec 1, 2020
Messages
395
Reaction score
147
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Sabattus
No power heads at the moment, just an ac50 and 2 ac110s for now. Rubble rock in the 50 and 110s are fuges. Pulled the 2 koralia nano wave pumps out when I added the rbta, thinking I have enough flow for now.

Planning on a mp10 at some point, maybe 2 eventually. I lost the cvt transmission in the car so had to hold off on equipment upgrades, made it just far enough to trade it in. 30 gallon long
Scratch that, was cutting my sand bed down when I noticed all sorts of hair algae. Been too busy watching the rbta I didn’t even notice. Made nem guards out of a ac110 sponge insert and put both koralia nano 425 back in place. Not pretty in the slightest but should do the trick and an extra filtration point.

Changing up the stocking, giving up on the community, ordered a pair of Blood Orange clownfish and a red tuxedo urchin from ora. Looking forward to a simple tank, just two fish, easier to manage than 6 fish, four different kinds.

1E81EDBB-174C-40AD-997A-5B1791977ED1.jpeg
 

MnFish1

10K Club member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Dec 28, 2016
Messages
12,999
Reaction score
13,921
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
This seems to be (sorry) a poorly worded question. I have 2 gyres. the F350's - rated 5280 gallons. Is that the same as 2 MARINELAND powerheads? No offense. Btw - if someone had the 'powerhead' I have in my tank in a 13 gallon nano tank - it would be interesting to say the least. This all depends on tank size, volume, etc - right?
 
Last edited:

Toys For Kids Drive

Untitled-2 copy.jpg

BRS

What's the first coral you ever bought?

  • An invasive soft coral

    Votes: 69 18.1%
  • Zoanthids

    Votes: 100 26.2%
  • Mushrooms

    Votes: 59 15.4%
  • Other Soft Coral

    Votes: 50 13.1%
  • LPS

    Votes: 85 22.3%
  • SPS

    Votes: 10 2.6%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 9 2.4%
BMF signature corals
Top