Quarantine From Online Supplier?

headdr

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Any suggestions on a quarantine process for new fish? I am thinking about buying a Sailfin, Hippo, and/or possibly a convict tang from an online retailer. I have never done a QT tank before, but i have enough livestock that i dont want to risk it. I currently have a 10 gallon for growing copopods setup. I have never freshwater dipped or medicated before. Is it good practice to do one or both regardless of seeing any issues or should you QT and only treat if you see signs of disease? If medicate any suggestions?

Brew12

Electrical Gru
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Any suggestions on a quarantine process for new fish? I am thinking about buying a Sailfin, Hippo, and/or possibly a convict tang from an online retailer. I have never done a QT tank before, but i have enough livestock that i dont want to risk it. I currently have a 10 gallon for growing copopods setup. I have never freshwater dipped or medicated before. Is it good practice to do one or both regardless of seeing any issues or should you QT and only treat if you see signs of disease? If medicate any suggestions?
My feelings are that if you have fish that haven't been treated in your DT than medicating new additions proactively isn't worth the effort. There is still value in treating symptoms in a QT but odds are you have diseases/parasites in your system being held in check by your fishes immune system.

Monkeynaut

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you choose not to QT. Which was my choice.
I recommend buying from Aquatic Cove. They at least keep most of their fish in Hypo and Copper. I am not saying that is QT but it is probably better than nothing.
Plus you can see the fish. Notice if it is fat or not and possibly even watch it for a week or so, provided nobody buys it.