Question about Dino’s

yanni

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m fairly new to saltwater aquariums but have seen these pesky algae, Dino’s, mentioned quite often in various discussions. So I have a question....

how common are they? Is everyone bound to get them? Are there sure fire ways to avoid them?
Kind regards, yanni

Quietman

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Common but no, you're not guaranteed to get them, like diatoms. The thinking in hte hobby lately seems to be keeping your nitrate and phosphate detectable. I had an outbreak and always had detectable NO3 and PO4 and had good maintenance routine. Again, it's just the common wisdom last couple of years on how to prevent dino - not a guarantee and I definitely keep my NO3/PO4 in the detectable range even though it didn't work for me. You got to play the percentages in this game.

OP
OP
yanni

yanni

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So, as a noob so to speak, what are the best preventative measures to take?
Common but no, you're not guaranteed to get them, like diatoms. The thinking in hte hobby lately seems to be keeping your nitrate and phosphate detectable. I had an outbreak and always had detectable NO3 and PO4 and had good maintenance routine. Again, it's just the common wisdom last couple of years on how to prevent dino - not a guarantee and I definitely keep my NO3/PO4 in the detectable range even though it didn't work for me. You got to play the percentages in this game.

Quietman

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0