reef-pi :: An opensource reef tank controller based on Raspberry Pi.

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself (DIY)' started by Ranjib, Feb 10, 2017.

  1. MaccaPopEye

    MaccaPopEye Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    561
    In my limited free time I'm currently working on learning fusion 360 and designing a power board unit to print (also getting the printer dialled in which is taking a while) will post it up when I am happy with it. My ReefPi build is on hold atm, unfortunately unless I want to pay through the nose I have to wait 1-2 months for most small parts :eek:
     
    Ranjib likes this.

  2. MaccaPopEye

    MaccaPopEye Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    561
    I'm by no means a graphic designer so this is just a couple of badly cropped images from google, but here is my suggestion for a possible Reef-Pi logo. As an Icon it could just be the picture, but then as a logo it could also say Reef-Pi above or below it?

    Just my 2 cents :)
    [​IMG]
     
  3. Gary G

    Gary G Active Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor Hudson Valley Reef Keepers

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    62
    Well after playing around with the stuff I figure I will have to be the person who programs the UI unless I can find help from a person who knows UX. but the cool thing is I get to learn something new and give it more than just a flat look.
     
    ReeferMadness88 and Ranjib like this.
  4. reelss

    reelss Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    31
    I am new to electronics, so this proving to be a challenge. I am building my power controller, following this video:


    Can anyone please tell me the steps that are skipped?
    So far i've followed the video up to the 11 minute mark, but don't know how to proceed forward.
     
    Bronc likes this.
  5. Ranjib

    Ranjib Valuable Member R2R Supporter Reef Squad R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    2,935
    Likes Received:
    4,144
    Location:
    Foster City, Bay Area
    Can you explain a bit more, what all you have done . Any wiring pics?
     
  6. Gary G

    Gary G Active Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor Hudson Valley Reef Keepers

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    62
    let me watch the two videos of what's going on I think I have a Idea of what he is doing i saw the same thing for another aquarium program setup.
     
  7. reelss

    reelss Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    31
    Wired up the outlet, like described in the video. The neutrals are daisy chained. The whites are all connected to each other. The black wires connect to the first slot in the relay.
    The red wires are connected to the second slot of the relay and will be daisy chained.

    upload_2018-3-2_21-38-33.png

    upload_2018-3-2_21-39-9.png

    upload_2018-3-2_21-39-31.png

    Need to figure out how to connect this to the socket.
     
  8. Gary G

    Gary G Active Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor Hudson Valley Reef Keepers

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    62
  9. Ranjib

    Ranjib Valuable Member R2R Supporter Reef Squad R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    2,935
    Likes Received:
    4,144
    Location:
    Foster City, Bay Area
    I think you can simplify the relay wiring. On the relay side, you can daisy chain the hot wire, you dont have to connect the independently.

    Here are some pics of one of my power controller build (now decommissioned in lie of a junction box based housing),
    DB7357F5-D061-4999-B06E-8DC42A5C7F87.jpeg

    notice the relay has daisy chained hot wire
    3B272AB4-DF9E-4F3A-A109-3E0F035C8849.jpeg


    Here is a closeup of the incoming socket, the wiring is similar to yours, except for me the hot wire (one that goes via fuse) is at the bottom (yours One has the middle one as hot). You should daisy chain the hot wire to relay the other to directly in the receptacle .
    A4AA930F-60FC-452F-97C7-CE6D0A912587.jpeg


    Does this make sense now? Let’s give this a shot and do a continuity check with multimeter before connecting ac power (check for the switch on/off)
     
    Gary G likes this.
  10. Twocorns

    Twocorns Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2016
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    72
    I have the same setup. If you're still having problems I'll help after work.
     
  11. Gary G

    Gary G Active Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor Hudson Valley Reef Keepers

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    62
    are you guys breaking off the gold tab the connects the two on the hot side?
     
  12. Twocorns

    Twocorns Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2016
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    72
    Yes, but only on the hot side. Leave the other side alone
     
    Gary G likes this.
  13. Gary G

    Gary G Active Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor Hudson Valley Reef Keepers

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    62
    THanks I just wanted to make sure. I wonder why don't people use gfi outlets?
     
  14. Gary G

    Gary G Active Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor Hudson Valley Reef Keepers

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    62
    O just a question Can we setsomething up for the guys helping or working on reefpi so we can post notes chat and progress? we anyone be up for that
     
  15. ThorEp

    ThorEp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Kvelde, Norway
    It really need some better ui/ux
     
  16. thehammer1985

    thehammer1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    313
    Location:
    westland michigan
    Love this apex may off you though
     
  17. Twocorns

    Twocorns Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2016
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    72
    GFCI outlets are expensive. Cheaper to have a wall GFCI outlet.
     
    Gary G and Ranjib like this.
  18. Ranjib

    Ranjib Valuable Member R2R Supporter Reef Squad R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    2,935
    Likes Received:
    4,144
    Location:
    Foster City, Bay Area
    yes. they are supposed to be used that way if need be.
     
    Gary G likes this.
  19. Ranjib

    Ranjib Valuable Member R2R Supporter Reef Squad R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    2,935
    Likes Received:
    4,144
    Location:
    Foster City, Bay Area
    its is also ok to use a single gfci outlet to connect the power controller, instead of having dedicated gfci receptacles mounted in the power controller
     
    BeardUp and Gary G like this.
  20. Jean-Pierre Renaud

    Jean-Pierre Renaud Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Blainville
    Any way to make the layout not overlap like that on mobile ?

    Screenshot_20180303-143232.png
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
Loading...