reef-pi :: An opensource reef tank controller based on Raspberry Pi.

MichaelA18454

Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2019
Messages
18
Reaction score
16
I have been running Reef-Pi for almost a week with a heater and ATO running on a Pi-Zero. Now after going through installing the Lighting and Doser modules as per the Adafruit instructions, I decided to delete the Lighting modules and then I lost WiFi comms. Looking for a reason, I found the controller had stopped with nothing working on the Pi-Zero. I then reset "Service" and then after being able to reconnect to theReef-Pi, I found all the modules had been deleted, now showing a blank setup. So, I obviously haven't grasped the setup, and now I need to figure out what I am doing wrong. My first thought was towards overloading the Pi-Zero with too many modules. Maybe the Pi-Zero is only capable of just heater and ATO. I did read somewhere the intent is to minimised the number of modules and adopt multiple Pi's to achieve the total control. Would it be fair to say this is true and that I need to be more aware of CPU/Memory. If so where can I read about health check? Any other thought on what I may have not considered?
Cheers
 
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

Valuable Member
R2R Supporter
R2R Excellence Award
Reef Squad
Build Thread Contributor
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
6,656
Reaction score
11,410
Location
Palo Alto, Bay Area
I have been running Reef-Pi for almost a week with a heater and ATO running on a Pi-Zero. Now after going through installing the Lighting and Doser modules as per the Adafruit instructions, I decided to delete the Lighting modules and then I lost WiFi comms. Looking for a reason, I found the controller had stopped with nothing working on the Pi-Zero. I then reset "Service" and then after being able to reconnect to theReef-Pi, I found all the modules had been deleted, now showing a blank setup. So, I obviously haven't grasped the setup, and now I need to figure out what I am doing wrong. My first thought was towards overloading the Pi-Zero with too many modules. Maybe the Pi-Zero is only capable of just heater and ATO. I did read somewhere the intent is to minimised the number of modules and adopt multiple Pi's to achieve the total control. Would it be fair to say this is true and that I need to be more aware of CPU/Memory. If so where can I read about health check? Any other thought on what I may have not considered?
Cheers
I think this is something related to sdcard corruption. You won’t be able to overload the pi zero even with all modules enabled (unless you are also using the GUI/desktop). And even if it’s overloaded that won’t cause the database to be wiped out, that’s only possible if you delete the database or sd card corruption.
 

MichaelA18454

Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2019
Messages
18
Reaction score
16
Thanks Ranjib for your response, the controller was running as expected.
Your comment towards SDcard corruption, specifically pointing to the database and yet Reef-Pi was unaffected, as the controller is up and running in blank form after a "Service" reset??
Only the database and nothing else for SDcard corruption?
In a previous post I said I don't implement "RELOAD" because every time I do, I have to reset "Service" Could this be another reason for loosing the database?
Hugh thanks for your effort and time in sharing such a great opportunity for DIY Reefers.
 

janos

Active Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2017
Messages
217
Reaction score
181
Location
Toronto,Canada
Hi to all,am running my reef-pi almost 2 year long from USB and never ever had any problem.Before i run from sd card and problem come every day from wrong shut down and all kind of (my mistake) USB is the safest to me.RPI 3 B+
 

crusso1993

Valuable Member
Partner Member 2019
Hospitality Award
Joined
Oct 21, 2018
Messages
3,605
Reaction score
18,882
Location
Chicago, IL, USA
Thanks Ranjib for your response, the controller was running as expected.
Your comment towards SDcard corruption, specifically pointing to the database and yet Reef-Pi was unaffected, as the controller is up and running in blank form after a "Service" reset??
Only the database and nothing else for SDcard corruption?
In a previous post I said I don't implement "RELOAD" because every time I do, I have to reset "Service" Could this be another reason for loosing the database?
Hugh thanks for your effort and time in sharing such a great opportunity for DIY Reefers.
Out of curiosity; do you reboot after adding a module? If by "RELOAD" you mean reboot then that may be the issue.
 

MichaelA18454

Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2019
Messages
18
Reaction score
16
Hi Crusso, Yes, I meant "REBOOT". I add all the modules and "UPDATE" but find I have to reset "Service" if I implement "REBOOT" I'm not sure what this is for or if part of the save configuration. So, I haven't been implementing this, I just do a power cycle and see if the modules persist. As an addition, I found the modules previously setup were all gone after I lost comms and reset Service. It might point to me not actually saving the modules at the onset in "Configuration" What's the Reload Reboot for?
Cheers
 

Fish Fan

Active Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2017
Messages
233
Reaction score
126
Hi guys! Quick question and I’m sorry if this has been answered already.... I have never used any kind of aquarium controller before. Do I need a heater without an internal thermostat in order for Reef-Pi to control it? Will my Cobalt Neotherm heaters work with Reef-Pi?

Thank very much!

-Fish Fan
 

crusso1993

Valuable Member
Partner Member 2019
Hospitality Award
Joined
Oct 21, 2018
Messages
3,605
Reaction score
18,882
Location
Chicago, IL, USA
Hi Crusso, Yes, I meant "REBOOT". I add all the modules and "UPDATE" but find I have to reset "Service" if I implement "REBOOT" I'm not sure what this is for or if part of the save configuration. So, I haven't been implementing this, I just do a power cycle and see if the modules persist. As an addition, I found the modules previously setup were all gone after I lost comms and reset Service. It might point to me not actually saving the modules at the onset in "Configuration" What's the Reload Reboot for?
Cheers
It's my understanding that rebooting is necessary after adding or changing modules. I have a suspected understanding as to why but, since I am not certain, will not comment on it.

I am sure we will hear from @Ranjib regarding the "rebooting".
 

MacSakkie

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2017
Messages
2
Reaction score
3
Hi guys! Quick question and I’m sorry if this has been answered already.... I have never used any kind of aquarium controller before. Do I need a heater without an internal thermostat in order for Reef-Pi to control it? Will my Cobalt Neotherm heaters work with Reef-Pi?

Thank very much!

-Fish Fan
Hi it will work. I prefer the thermostat heater. Just set the thermostat one degree higher. In the unlikely event that something goes wrong it will shut the heater off preventing that the tank overheats
 
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

Valuable Member
R2R Supporter
R2R Excellence Award
Reef Squad
Build Thread Contributor
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
6,656
Reaction score
11,410
Location
Palo Alto, Bay Area
Hi Crusso, Yes, I meant "REBOOT". I add all the modules and "UPDATE" but find I have to reset "Service" if I implement "REBOOT" I'm not sure what this is for or if part of the save configuration. So, I haven't been implementing this, I just do a power cycle and see if the modules persist. As an addition, I found the modules previously setup were all gone after I lost comms and reset Service. It might point to me not actually saving the modules at the onset in "Configuration" What's the Reload Reboot for?
Cheers
If by reset you mean you are deleting database, then yes you will loose all your previous configuration. Don’t resent database unless you are updating major version or something it really broken
 

MichaelA18454

Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2019
Messages
18
Reaction score
16
Hi Ranjib, Please let me clarify my situation, I select configuration, and then check Lighting and doses, press UPDATE and then go to admin and select reboot as per the instructions. Then I am disconnected from the UI and am required to enter my http://reeftank to initiate the UI, BUT now the UI will not connect. I then use Putty to:
sudo systemctl stop reef-pi.service
sudo rm -rf /var/lib/reef-pi/reef-pi.db
sudo systemctl start reef-pi.service
And then I can connect to the UI once more.
Once I have done this the Doser and Lighting are NOT selected in Configuration, and so I choose not the go through admin "REBOOT" and continue with the build. And this is where that after a week the UI stops working, and again I need to do the :
sudo systemctl stop reef-pi.service
sudo rm -rf /var/lib/reef-pi/reef-pi.db
sudo systemctl start reef-pi.service
Again to get the UI working, and again the Doser and Lighting are once again not selected, and I have lost ALL the setup modules.
You suggest this is caused from a corrupt SDcard? Then should I start over from installing NOOBS?
Cheers
 

PaulJ2303

Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2018
Messages
28
Reaction score
97
Hi,
I want to start on the second part of my Reef-Pi project which is the power controller. Unfortunately here in the UK i cant use the power strip you guys use in the guides, it's the wrong type of plug and would also cost me a fortune to get over here.

is there anyone in the UK who's built this unit and what parts did you use ?
Thanks for any help you can be.
 

MichaelA18454

Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2019
Messages
18
Reaction score
16
sudo rm -rf /var/lib/reef-pi/reef-pi.db

This commando delete the database, that is why you have no lighting nor doser afterwards.
Thanks Ben, then that explains that. Then I can't figure out why selecting "REBOOT" crashed the controller. I have tried many times but can't get past this point.
 
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

Valuable Member
R2R Supporter
R2R Excellence Award
Reef Squad
Build Thread Contributor
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
6,656
Reaction score
11,410
Location
Palo Alto, Bay Area
Hi,
I want to start on the second part of my Reef-Pi project which is the power controller. Unfortunately here in the UK i cant use the power strip you guys use in the guides, it's the wrong type of plug and would also cost me a fortune to get over here.

is there anyone in the UK who's built this unit and what parts did you use ?
Thanks for any help you can be.
The ones I can recall from UK/Oz are all scratch builds, using relays and receptacles.
From 3.0 onwards you can use Kasa/tplink based smart plugs
 
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

Valuable Member
R2R Supporter
R2R Excellence Award
Reef Squad
Build Thread Contributor
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
6,656
Reaction score
11,410
Location
Palo Alto, Bay Area
Thanks Ben, then that explains that. Then I can't figure out why selecting "REBOOT" crashed the controller. I have tried many times but can't get past this point.
Can you elaborate what you mean by crash? You are expected to see the red UI dialog while the pi power cycle, relays might be turned on/off during this.
 

MichaelA18454

Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2019
Messages
18
Reaction score
16
Can you elaborate what you mean by crash? You are expected to see the red UI dialog while the pi power cycle, relays might be turned on/off during this.
Hi Ranjib, Thanks for reaching out, today I decided to do a complete rebuild, reformatting and checking the SDcard and then proceeded to install Rasbian lite and reef-pi. Unfortunately I am getting the same condition.
I see the condition after I go into Configuration, check Lighting, Doser and the PCA9685 and press "UPDATE".
I then go to admin and press "REBOOT", this causes an instant error stating I have been disconnect.
When I attempt to re-log in to Reef-pi UI in a browser, I see "loading" in the top left hand corner of the window and eventually get cannot connect.
I can connect to the controller using Putty, and see it connected to the network, but not a browser.
This is where I use Putty to:
sudo systemctl stop reef-pi.service
sudo rm -rf /var/lib/reef-pi/reef-pi.db
sudo systemctl start reef-pi.service
This allows me to reconnect to Reef-pi again.
As suggested, this is why I loose the selections in "Configuration"

 
Top