reef-pi :: An opensource reef tank controller based on Raspberry Pi.

Blaxkin

Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 4, 2019
Messages
24
Reaction score
43
theres nothing in 3.0 that has something like this. let me think through whats the best course of action from exact feature (moving average or some other type of smoothing) and priority perspectives. I need a few more use cases from others with similar issues. Worth tracking
Thanks :)

So here is an other picture. These are the typical ds18b20 error values 85 and 127. in the Pictures are only 85 errors.

Iam really the only one with this problem ? :-(

In the circuit i cant do more :-( i reduced the pullup to 2.2k and added a capacitor to voltage stabilization near the sensors

7BEC138C-F1BE-404A-A3E9-DC5A9090BA63.png
 
Best reef aquarium LED lighting

Des Westcott

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 29, 2018
Messages
278
Reaction score
393
Thanks :)

So here is an other picture. These are the typical ds18b20 error values 85 and 127. in the Pictures are only 85 errors.

Iam really the only one with this problem ? :-(

In the circuit i cant do more :-( i reduced the pullup to 2.2k and added a capacitor to voltage stabilization near the sensors

7BEC138C-F1BE-404A-A3E9-DC5A9090BA63.png
Hi. Please help me understand what you're doing here. I'm confused as to why you have an ATO reporting Temperature?
 

Bigtrout

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 16, 2018
Messages
852
Reaction score
2,075
@Bigtrout this only crashes reef-pi right? Raspberry Pi is running fine otherwise? The error log here is cropped, if you do get the full log say from 23:58 that will be very useful.
Yeah i didnt log in quick enough to catch it from 23:58.
Im not positive if ita just reef pi reloading or if my pi is rebooting. I do know reef pi crashes at 11:59 and isnt back up until 12:01 am.
 
World Wide Corals - Quality Aqua-cultured Coral

pies666

Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 25, 2019
Messages
7
Reaction score
7
Heya,

Do lightning graphs work only with 0-10V 2 PWM singnal regulated lights?
I can't get them to work. I'm powering 2 LED strips, each of them via single PWM signal (generated by PCA9685) and N-Mosfet. Everything is working just fine - only graphs won't loading.

Also bump:
When I enable screen in reef-pi settings nothing happens. When I try moving the brightness slider the screen itself reacts just fine but the slider is not moving. Should the reef-pi display any UI on the screen with touchscreen connected or I have to use web browser anyway?
Futhermore when I reload reef-pi and when I hit Settings tab I get
"{"error":"strconv.Atoi: parsing \"169\\n\": invalid syntax"} | HTTP 404 "

I'd appreciate any information from someone who has touchscreen working.

Thanks!

rpi reef-pi.JPG 11.JPG 55.JPG
 

Bigtrout

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 16, 2018
Messages
852
Reaction score
2,075
Thanks :)

So here is an other picture. These are the typical ds18b20 error values 85 and 127. in the Pictures are only 85 errors.

Iam really the only one with this problem ? :-(

In the circuit i cant do more :-( i reduced the pullup to 2.2k and added a capacitor to voltage stabilization near the sensors

7BEC138C-F1BE-404A-A3E9-DC5A9090BA63.png
I had this problem before and it ended up being a bad power supply causing big time interference. Once thay was replaced I havent had an error like this since.
 

b4tn

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 17, 2015
Messages
1,342
Reaction score
1,832
Location
Ellicott City MD
What's the best way to just clear the config and start over? also, before I do that, where is the config file stored so I can see what my connector settings are? I tried to roll back, and that didn't work.
I'd like a way of getting a smoother average graph than what I get below. If possible. Or another way?


2019-12-01 (2).png
Mine is the same way. It was not like this in 2.4. I freaked out a little when I saw a huge spike in temp until I saw the sccale and realized it was only .1 degree lol
 

dmolavi

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 3, 2015
Messages
423
Reaction score
528
Location
United States
Mine is the same way. It was not like this in 2.4. I freaked out a little when I saw a huge spike in temp until I saw the sccale and realized it was only .1 degree lol
I don't know if this is possible, but something like what pi-hole uses for graphing may work for reef-pi. It has smoothed/best fit curves for all of it's charts.
 

Des Westcott

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 29, 2018
Messages
278
Reaction score
393
Heya,

Do lightning graphs work only with 0-10V 2 PWM singnal regulated lights?
I can't get them to work. I'm powering 2 LED strips, each of them via single PWM signal (generated by PCA9685) and N-Mosfet. Everything is working just fine - only graphs won't loading.

Also bump:
When I enable screen in reef-pi settings nothing happens. When I try moving the brightness slider the screen itself reacts just fine but the slider is not moving. Should the reef-pi display any UI on the screen with touchscreen connected or I have to use web browser anyway?
Futhermore when I reload reef-pi and when I hit Settings tab I get
"{"error":"strconv.Atoi: parsing \"169\\n\": invalid syntax"} | HTTP 404 "

I'd appreciate any information from someone who has touchscreen working.

Thanks!

rpi reef-pi.JPG 11.JPG 55.JPG
I'm using a 15" Elo touchscreen and it just worked against all the odds. It is VGA, and I had to use a HDMI / VGA adaptor and it has a USB connection for the touch. Plug and play. I would assume that the Raspberry Pi screen should be even easier.

Is it set up to support a screen in Raspi Config? Not set up to run headless?
 

pies666

Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 25, 2019
Messages
7
Reaction score
7
I'm using a 15" Elo touchscreen and it just worked against all the odds. It is VGA, and I had to use a HDMI / VGA adaptor and it has a USB connection for the touch. Plug and play. I would assume that the Raspberry Pi screen should be even easier.

Is it set up to support a screen in Raspi Config? Not set up to run headless?
I've seen your 15'' before somewhere in this topic:)

My official Rpi screen itself is working just fine with Rasbian and browser. I had A HMDI/GPIO before (so similar setup to your VGA->HDMI + USB for touch) and it was also working ok but, of course, no reef-pi compatibility. I could run the reef-pi in browser obviously, just like You but reef-pi itself was not detecting the screen. I decided to change to official one (official 7'' RPI Touchscreen). Unfortunately, despite it should be supported by reef-pi, I'm still having issues with it as You can see on screenshots (errors). So basically I have no advantage of having official screen in comparison with any other, custom screen.
 

Zippyfear

Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 30, 2019
Messages
40
Reaction score
56
theres nothing in 3.0 that has something like this. let me think through whats the best course of action from exact feature (moving average or some other type of smoothing) and priority perspectives. I need a few more use cases from others with similar issues. Worth tracking
I'll second this one! Every time I've had my temp probes fail the reading, they throw readings jumping 135+ F. and the cooler will kick on. It'd be nice to ignore range jumps +- 5 degrees and just throw an alert
 

Des Westcott

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 29, 2018
Messages
278
Reaction score
393
I've seen your 15'' before somewhere in this topic:)

My official Rpi screen itself is working just fine with Rasbian and browser. I had A HMDI/GPIO before (so similar setup to your VGA->HDMI + USB for touch) and it was also working ok but, of course, no reef-pi compatibility. I could run the reef-pi in browser obviously, just like You but reef-pi itself was not detecting the screen. I decided to change to official one (official 7'' RPI Touchscreen). Unfortunately, despite it should be supported by reef-pi, I'm still having issues with it as You can see on screenshots (errors). So basically I have no advantage of having official screen in comparison with any other, custom screen.
Aaaahh. I think I get what you're saying now. Reef-Pi itself doesn't actually detect the screen. You have to run it in a browser.

I followed this tutorial https://pimylifeup.com/raspberry-pi-kiosk/ and now have my Raspberry Pi running in Kiosk Mode. The Raspberry Pi boots directly into Chrome and opens the page I specified (Reef-Pi). Works brilliantly for what I want.
01532d999834273d6ffc33933a78e23720a2e6d7e8.jpg


That's what my Raspberry Pi boots into . I'm assuming that's what you want?
 

Des Westcott

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 29, 2018
Messages
278
Reaction score
393
@Ranjib

I was wondering......... can I have more than one temperature control running off of one temp sensor? For example, Sensor1 runs heaters and 2 x fans (heaters come on at 25, fans at 26). But if the heat really climbs , I'd like to have a second temperature control running off Sensor1 with no (or phantom) heaters and be set to turn another two fans on at 27. If I can't get that right, I'll set up a second temp sensor to run just the second fans.

Going to play around with it now.
 

brandon clow

Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 22, 2017
Messages
91
Reaction score
95
This looks like a bug, but should not crash the controller. Can you share some details on the light setup?

@Bigtrout regarding to update the pwm profile of an existing light using API. here is the basic steps. The first few steps are common for all API operations

- Get an authentication cookie (equivalent to signin)
Code:
curl -c cookie.txt  -X POST  http://<IP>/auth/signin -d '{"user":"reef-pi", "password":"reef-pi"}'
- List your lights (we need the ID of the light we want to update. This should also show the details of individual light, including the assigned profile
Code:
curl -b cookie.txt   http://<IP>/api/lights
- Get json representation of a specific light (ID obtained from the previous step) in a file, so that we can edit the profile part and reupload it
Code:
curl -b cookie.txt   http://<IP>/api/lights/<ID> > light.json
[code]
- Open the json file in a text editor and change the parts you want. In this case the profile attribute. I'll detail the specifics of what to change little later. But once necessary changes have been made, update the light with  this
[code]
curl -b cookie.txt http://<IP>/api/lights/ID -X POST -d @light.json

Now, regarding your specific question on how to use the new interval profile to specify custom setpoints.
the interval profile requires an duration parameter that represent the difference between two consecutive set points in second, and a list of values each representing one setpoint. The interval profile like most profile has a daily start and end time and reef-pi will validate that the number of setpoints are exactly (start - end)/interval duration + 1. For example if start time is 9:00:00 , end time is 18:00:00 and interval duration is 900 (15 minutes) then a list of 37 setpoint values needs to be specified. Here is an example . I have reduced the start /end time shorter to limit the number of setpoints

Code:
{
    "id": "1",
    "name": "L0",
    "channels": {
      "0": {
        "name": "Channel-1",
        "on": true,
        "min": 0,
        "max": 100,
        "pin": 0,
        "color": "",
        "manual": false,
        "value": 0,
        "profile": {
          "name": "",
          "type": "interval",
          "config": {
            "start": "20:30:00",
            "end": "22:30:00",
            "values": [
              0,
              16,
              30,
              52,
              66,
              45,
              30,
              12,
              0
            ],
            "interval": 900
          },
          "min": 0,
          "max": 0
        }
      }
    },
    "jack": "1",
    "enable": true
  }
This is what I needed also! I cloned the build in VS and i am digging through the pwm profiles so I can build various json files to try. I think I should have no issue with building these (random, temporal, lunar, loop, interval with more points) but I am trying to understand composite a bit more and assembling the various configs. I am reviewing composite_test.go and can digest the parameters fairly well. Do I need to build each profile and then call each function in succession (as it looks to be asynchronous), i am assuming this to be the case. The arguments for the profile look to be type and span duration of the profile function called but the last one I am not sure about yet is config since it is inherent to the profile being called. Also do you have any kind of composite profiles that you can share?

*there may be items I missed as I only had a couple minutes in my day so far to look this over.
 
Best reef aquarium LED lighting

Where do you go in case of a real reef tank emergency?

  • Me, myself and I

    Votes: 224 43.5%
  • Local Friend

    Votes: 47 9.1%
  • Reef2Reef

    Votes: 198 38.4%
  • Other

    Votes: 46 8.9%

Online statistics

Members online
1,947
Guests online
4,811
Total visitors
6,758
TCK Corals
Top