reef-pi :: An opensource reef tank controller based on Raspberry Pi.

OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

7500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
9,607
Reaction score
16,613
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Pleasant Hill, Concord
Tried upgrading an older version of reef-pi using "wget -c https://github.com/reef-pi/reef-pi/releases/download/5.3/reef-pi-5.3-pi0.deb" followed by "sudo dpkg -i reef-pi-5.3-pi0.deb" and when I run the
sudo systemctl status reef-pi.service command I get this

reef-pi.service - raspberry pi based reef tank controller
Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/reef-pi.service; disabled; vendor preset:
Active: inactive (dead)
lines 1-3/3 (END)

I tried rebooting and tried it again while running "sudo apt-get remove -y --purge reef-pi" first. Same result....
What does the log says. That will indicate the exact error , we need that
 
Partner Membership 2023

NeonRabbit221B

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jun 21, 2019
Messages
3,034
Reaction score
5,592
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Richmond, Va
What does the log says. That will indicate the exact error , we need that
Which log file?

Even when I run it per Robotank instructions I get a crash and checking the status yields
Unit reef-pi.service could not be found.

Syncing time ...takes less than 1 minute
Updating Raspberry Pi Operating System ...takes 1-30 minutes
client_loop: send disconnect: Broken pipe
 
www.dinkinsaquaticgardens.com

NeonRabbit221B

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jun 21, 2019
Messages
3,034
Reaction score
5,592
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Richmond, Va
Sorry for duplicate posts... I tried 5.2 and it worked. Going to do a setup for an RODI controller tomorrow so let me know which logs are needed and how to get them (tech idiot here) and I can help debug.

Also what value of Hysteresis should be acceptable for temperature? I have tried everything from decimal values to 100,000 so I figure its another annoying bug.... It won't let me control my temp unless I have a valid value and I can't find one...
 
Last edited:

Sral

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 2, 2022
Messages
282
Reaction score
329
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Germany
Sorry for duplicate posts... I tried 5.2 and it worked. Going to do a setup for an RODI controller tomorrow so let me know which logs are needed and how to get them (tech idiot here) and I can help debug.

Also what value of Hysteresis should be acceptable for temperature? I have tried everything from decimal values to 100,000 so I figure its another annoying bug.... It won't let me control my temp unless I have a valid value and I can't find one...
That hysteresis is a UI bug if I remember correctly.

See here for example. I think it was fixed in 5.3, but I'm not sure.

The solution is to also enter a chiller threshold higher than the heater threshold and/or create an empty macro that you enter as a chiller. Afterwards you can enter the heater hysteresis without a problem I think.
 
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

7500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
9,607
Reaction score
16,613
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Pleasant Hill, Concord
Got an ato alert today morning .
4429B2BE-7D4D-484B-A720-3FCC6A1496E6.jpeg

Was surprised as I filled it up two days back , and generally it takes a week or so to exhaust the reservoir. Anyway, after close inspection, found the culprit :)
BC031698-B529-4EE8-B4AE-0EFDCE1764E9.jpeg
 
Partner Membership 2023
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

7500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
9,607
Reaction score
16,613
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Pleasant Hill, Concord
now that i have spotted this dude red handed, im rethinking if all those weird ato behaviors were due to bad float switch or some other issues like this.. anyhow.. i kinda rely on the alert mechanism heavily, even for normal chores (like ato reservoir empty),,,,
 

Coolhack

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jul 21, 2019
Messages
78
Reaction score
48
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Anywhere
So, i have had this working before but cant seem to get it working now. I am trying to get the email to text feature working and it isnt sending the emails. I have 2 factor set up with my app password and still nothing. Any thoughts?
 
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

7500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
9,607
Reaction score
16,613
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Pleasant Hill, Concord
So, i have had this working before but cant seem to get it working now. I am trying to get the email to text feature working and it isnt sending the emails. I have 2 factor set up with my app password and still nothing. Any thoughts?
you see any error in the log when you hit the test email button?
 
Tidal Gardens

stefanm

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 11, 2017
Messages
360
Reaction score
397
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Can someone please help me out, should be simple. I've changed router and my pi doesn't have a LAN port, I've also set the PI's IP address as static, so it won't automatically show up on the new router, I can access with the old router though. How do I set it up on the new router? Via putty?
 

Coolhack

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jul 21, 2019
Messages
78
Reaction score
48
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Anywhere
you see any error in the log when you hit the test email button?
Nothing! I have contacted my cell phone company and they are sending me new sim cards. Hopefully that fixes the leak problem.
you see any error in the log when you hit the test email button?
Nothing at all. It was like the text messages were sent and stuck in limbo, of course i found this out this morning when i called my cell phone provider. I could text and call from both of my numbers but i could not receive texts or calls from either of my numbers or anyone else's numbers for that matter. No sms gateway set up it seemed.
 

Raf714

New Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Feb 12, 2021
Messages
15
Reaction score
10
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Essen, Belgium
So, i have had this working before but cant seem to get it working now. I am trying to get the email to text feature working and it isnt sending the emails. I have 2 factor set up with my app password and still nothing. Any thoughts?
If you are trying to mail via a google account, it is blocked by google because it is send from a not trusted app. I have the same problem here.
 
www.dinkinsaquaticgardens.com

BSA

New Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 3, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
3
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
India
Can someone please help me out, should be simple. I've changed router and my pi doesn't have a LAN port, I've also set the PI's IP address as static, so it won't automatically show up on the new router, I can access with the old router though. How do I set it up on the new router? Via putty?
You don't need Putty, just copy "wpa_supplicant.conf" (here you update your wifi name and password) to boot drive of your memory card. put back memory card to the Pi and fire it up. I had just sucessfully update my password.
 

stefanm

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 11, 2017
Messages
360
Reaction score
397
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
You don't need Putty, just copy "wpa_supplicant.conf" (here you update your wifi name and password) to boot drive of your memory card. put back memory card to the Pi and fire it up. I had just sucessfully update my password.
Actually I don't want to remove the Sd card as it's a pain to access. I think no I know what to edit it should be possible Via putty.
 

BSA

New Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 3, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
3
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
India
Actually I don't want to remove the Sd card as it's a pain to access. I think no I know what to edit it should be possible Via putty.
OK you can Putty if you still have your old router but for me, i had changed the router password so i had no choice but to take out the Sd Card.
 
Nutramar Foods

Coolhack

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jul 21, 2019
Messages
78
Reaction score
48
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Anywhere
I started at reformat SDcard again and did a complete fresh install.
Without setting up any modules and ONLY selecting the 3 items in the "Configuration" folder Dose-LightingpPCS8685 and pressing "REBOOT"
Here are the log files before and after pressing "REBOOT"

[email protected]:~ $ sudo systemctl status reef-pi.service

? reef-pi.service - raspberry pi based reef tank controller
Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/reef-pi.service; enabled; vendor preset: enabled)
Active: active (running) since Mon 2019-07-15 12:31:38 AEST; 2min 58s ago
Main PID: 268 (reef-pi)
Memory: 9.3M
CGroup: /system.slice/reef-pi.service
+-268 /usr/bin/reef-pi daemon -config /etc/reef-pi/config.yml

Jul 15 12:31:39 reeftank reef-pi[268]: 2019/07/15 12:31:39 INFO: equipment subsystem: Finished syncing all equipment
Jul 15 12:31:39 reeftank reef-pi[268]: 2019/07/15 12:31:39 Successfully started subsystem: equipment
Jul 15 12:31:40 reeftank reef-pi[268]: 2019/07/15 12:31:40 Successfully started subsystem: timers
Jul 15 12:31:40 reeftank reef-pi[268]: 2019/07/15 12:31:40 Successfully started subsystem: ato
Jul 15 12:31:40 reeftank reef-pi[268]: 2019/07/15 12:31:40 Successfully started subsystem: temperature
Jul 15 12:31:40 reeftank reef-pi[268]: 2019/07/15 12:31:40 Successfully started subsystem: macro
Jul 15 12:31:40 reeftank reef-pi[268]: 2019/07/15 12:31:40 reef-pi is up and running
Jul 15 12:31:40 reeftank reef-pi[268]: 2019/07/15 12:31:40 Starting http server at: 0.0.0.0:80
Jul 15 12:31:40 reeftank reef-pi[268]: 2019/07/15 12:31:40 ERROR: health checker. Failed to load usage. Error: Item 'health_stats' does not exist in bucket '
Jul 15 12:31:40 reeftank reef-pi[268]: 2019/07/15 12:31:40 Starting health checker

*****************************************************************
Error Log file after pressing "REBOOT"

[email protected]:~ $ sudo journalctl -fu reef-pi.service
-- Logs begin at Mon 2019-07-15 12:39:55 AEST. --
Jul 15 12:41:28 reeftank systemd[1]: Started raspberry pi based reef tank controller.
Jul 15 12:41:29 reeftank reef-pi[292]: 2019/07/15 12:41:29 Setting pca9685 frquency: 1500
Jul 15 12:41:29 reeftank reef-pi[292]: 2019/07/15 12:41:29 ERROR: Failed to initialize pca9685 driver with mock i2c bus. Error: remote I/O error
Jul 15 12:41:29 reeftank reef-pi[292]: 2019/07/15 12:41:29 ERROR: Failed to initialize controller. Error:remote I/O error
Jul 15 12:41:29 reeftank systemd[1]: reef-pi.service: Main process exited, code=exited, status=1/FAILURE
Jul 15 12:41:29 reeftank systemd[1]: reef-pi.service: Failed with result 'exit-code'.
Jul 15 12:44:19 reeftank systemd[1]: reef-pi.service: Service RestartSec=1min 30s expired, scheduling restart.
Jul 15 12:44:19 reeftank systemd[1]: reef-pi.service: Scheduled restart job, restart counter is at 1.
Jul 15 12:44:19 reeftank systemd[1]: Stopped raspberry pi based reef tank controller.
Jul 15 12:44:19 reeftank systemd[1]: Started raspberry pi based reef tank controller.
Jul 15 12:44:19 reeftank reef-pi[599]: 2019/07/15 12:44:19 Setting pca9685 frquency: 1500
Jul 15 12:44:19 reeftank reef-pi[599]: 2019/07/15 12:44:19 ERROR: Failed to initialize pca9685 driver with mock i2c bus. Error: remote I/O error
Jul 15 12:44:19 reeftank reef-pi[599]: 2019/07/15 12:44:19 ERROR: Failed to initialize controller. Error:remote I/O error
Jul 15 12:44:19 reeftank systemd[1]: reef-pi.service: Main process exited, code=exited, status=1/FAILURE
Jul 15 12:44:19 reeftank systemd[1]: reef-pi.service: Failed with result 'exit-code'.
Why are you rebooting and not reloading?
 
First Choice Sale

Sral

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 2, 2022
Messages
282
Reaction score
329
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Germany
Hey everyone, me again. I just got these bomb leds for my tank and the power supply for them is 48 volts and 5.2amps out, is there a way to control these with reefpi?
Absolutely, you just need the right power supply and a n-channel MOSFET that can handle a least 48V and 5.2A. So Maybe one with 60V and 10A.

Depending if you want to dimm them, you should also use an Optocoupled Gate driver to switch those MOSFETs with a PWM signal and maybe a DC/DC converter to bring the 48V down to 5V to run the gate-driver and a few capacitors to protect the power supply from the PWM frequency / fats MOSFET switching.

You could also just run the MOSFET Gate directly from the PI or the PCA9685 PWM chip, but I'm paranoid about that so I wouldn't recommend it ^^

BTW, there are also people that keep more to Meanwell LDD drivers (constant current drivers). There are ups and downs to both. I personally opted for MOSFETs for the constant voltage drive in order to not change the LED color with the dimming, downside is, of course, that you need more kit to drive it.

Here is my DIY LED control thread. Still WIP, but I can quickly draw up a circuit for my project to give you some info. Just ask :)

You can also use the advanced search, just go for "thread Search", enter the DIY Subforum and look for "LED driver".
That gives this thread for example. Might have some info. You can find another few threads linked in my DIY LED control thread.
 
Last edited:

Coolhack

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jul 21, 2019
Messages
78
Reaction score
48
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Anywhere
Absolutely, you just need the right power supply and a n-channel MOSFET that can handle a least 48V and 5.2A. So Maybe one with 60V and 10A.

Depending if you want to dimm them, you should also use an Optocoupled Gate driver to switch those MOSFETs with a PWM signal and maybe a DC/DC converter to bring the 48V down to 5V to run the gate-driver and a few capacitors to protect the power supply from the PWM frequency / fats MOSFET switching.

You could also just run the MOSFET Gate directly from the PI or the PCA9685 PWM chip, but I'm paranoid about that so I wouldn't recommend it ^^

BTW, there are also people that keep more to Meanwell LDD drivers (constant current drivers). There are ups and downs to both. I personally opted for MOSFETs for the constant voltage drive in order to not change the LED color with the dimming, downside is, of course, that you need more kit to drive it.

Here is my DIY LED control thread. Still WIP, but I can quickly draw up a circuit for my project to give you some info. Just ask :)

You can also use the advanced search, just go for "thread Search", enter the DIY Subforum and look for "LED driver".
That gives this thread for example. Might have some info. You can find another few threads linked in my DIY LED control thread.
I have the 48 inch reefbreeders photon v2 leds w/o internet control. Can i use the power supply provided? I just opened the light up and see that it is 12 volt based.
 

How have you used eggcrate in or around your aquarium?

  • Aquarium lid

    Votes: 86 30.1%
  • Frag rack

    Votes: 145 50.7%
  • Skimmer stand

    Votes: 84 29.4%
  • Sump Divider

    Votes: 59 20.6%
  • Other (please describe in the discussion)

    Votes: 42 14.7%
  • I have not used eggcrate in or around my aquarium

    Votes: 74 25.9%
Top Shelf Aquatics
Top