Refugium vs Algae Scrubber

Guns286

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would have assumed that this question was asked before, but I didn’t see it anywhere. But, I’m sorry if it’s a repeat and I just missed it.
‘Soon I will be ready to set up a 50g reef aquarium, with a 20g sump. My plan is to incorporate a refugium into my sump. I’ve read a lot of articles and seen a lot of videos about refugium setup, function and contents. One of the functions is to help keep algae out of the main tank. Adding a clump of Chaeto and a light will help a lot.
Then I read about Algae Scrubbers. They seem simple to DIY and some articles claim they are much better at algae reduction then Chaeto in a refugium.
So, as a noob, I have to ask a few questions. Is the scrubber better then Chaeto? I know that a lot of this has to do with bioload, what you’re keeping in the talk, and other factors, but is one method considered better then the other? If you use both, at the same time, is that overkill?

cpschult

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The scrubber will be more efficient than the chaeto. Both can do nutrient export well. I’ve ran both on at least one of my setups, and will likely do both again. I really liked chaeto part of my fuge for pod haven.

theMeat

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Refugium better for pods. Ats better at nutrient reduction

X-37B

Fight The Good Fight
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
On my 45 frag system I run a small fuge with red macro algae only. Chaeto is a messy macro, imo.
Plus the red macro algae can be fed to certain fish.
I am not a fan of light in the sump but I dont have to use any po4 reducing media anymore.
I run a 30g remote fuge on my 80g system.
Light spill is the only issue in your sump. My skimmer has coralline algae growth and needs to be stripped evey 6 months.
20220503_114006.jpg
20220418_153038.jpg

20220328_160053.jpg