RxReef - a 220g bad idea (thanks dad!)

nbooks

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, my names Nathan and I'm betting you want to hear the story of how I wound up here....

I grew up in a house with a 50g saltwater tank and helping my father do water changes, and have always been a science nerd. When I was little I wanted to be a veterinarian at the aquarium (specifically for the penguins actually), in middle school I competed in a science competition of which the prize was getting to go to San Diego and spend a few days working along side Bob Ballard (the guy who discovered the titanic wreckage - my dad was actually working on the ship that drove right over it and didn't see it shortly prior...) and no as an adult...I literally do nothing even close to that. I'm an oncology pharmacist (now that Rx in the title should make more sense) but still a nerd.

Summer 2020 rolled around and I was bored in quarantine so I ordered myself a 40 gallon AIO to play with. It's currently overstocked and only sort of growing coral, but is nice to look...my wife never loved the spot I chose. As we all do I started dreaming of a larger tank, but every spot I thought up seemed to have joists going the wrong direction to support a decent sized tank so I shelved the idea and figured it would happen eventually.

And then my Dad got involved - remember that 50g tank I mentioned earlier? it's been running for probably close to 30 years at this point and some fish randomly died early in lockdown. Being older and not great health he stayed home for basically a year...where does he go o nhis first trip out? the LFS...and comes home with a juvenile emperor angel that he did ZERO research on. Fast forward to Thanksgiving 2021 and he jokingly tells me I need to start working on a home for his now sub adult emperor, to which my wife replies "you're going to have to pay fish support!"....and he agreed....