Stocking question for kids predator tank.

Hitman

Reefing One Day @ A Time!!!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a 75 gallon I set up for the kids. It will be a fowlr Predator tank. Here are the 3 fish they have picked that they would like in the tank. I have zero experience with what they have picked. Are these compatible?
1 Huma Huma Trigger
1 Niger Trigger
1 Porcupine Puffer

Long term I plan to have my 400 done by next summer which would move these guys to my current 240 in the next 9 months if all goes well.

JasonK84

I want more!!!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
IMO the humu with any other trigger is iffy. Maybe if the niger is let to establish first it "might" be ok. No real way to know as each fish is different. The puffer should be fine with either. I've never had a porcupine puffer but of the other puffers I've had my humu was ok with them.

Just my opinion.

lion king

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would not put any of those fish in a 75g. The Niger and puffer will outgrow that tank within a year, if not by size, by aggression. I dont advise it but if you do have a plan to rehome the picasso, a small one could live in that tank for a few years, they do grow slowly. I say a plan to rehome, because I have many resources to rehome fish, and many times grow up triggers for the expressed purpose, so that may be an option for you. But I would not even try the other 2 in that tank.

Take a look at dwarf angels, a couple of variety of small tangs, some blennys, hawkfish, all of these can be on the aggressive "predator" type fish. Maybe e en a dwarf golden eel.

OP
OP
Hitman

Hitman

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0