Switching Controllers

Discussion in 'Aquarium Controllers' started by Ditto, Jul 21, 2017.

  1. Ditto

    Ditto Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018 Partner Member 2019

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    632
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    The title of the thread says it all. I am not going to bash Neptune systems, all I am going to say mine crashed again, and the word fluke in the technical response left me going I cannot take any more chances. This was my second hard crash of the system, where both time the system came up in an inconsistent state and caused issues.

    What I currently Have:
    Apex 2016
    FMM (Fluid Monitor)
    WAV Controller (Went back to my Vortech)
    Additional PM1 and PM2 Module used to Monitor Reactors
    LSM Module (Lunar simulation)
    Leak Detector
    Multiple EB832/EB8
    ASM Module
    Multiple Displays

    What I have Ordered:
    ProFilux 4 Ultimate Set
    PLM-PH-Redox and PH probes * 2
    2 Level Sensors (ATO)
    3 Power Bar 5.1
    Expansion Box
    Proflux Touch (Downstairs Sump Display)
    Vortech Controller
    Mitras Simu-Stick
    Mitras Simu-Driver
    Temperature-Sensor
    5000 l/h Flow-sensor
    9000 l/h flow sensor * 2
    Assortment of PAB Cables to connect everything
    PL-LY cables to Connect

    Not ordered yet:

    Leak Detectors
    New ¼ Relays (I use these as safety I may see if I can re-wire the apex ones or try)
    And what the solution will be for PAR readings as I have a ASM module (idea’s welcomed as I may also swap out my CebruSun T5 with Mitras LED)

    My plan is to post the actual switching out of the components, and how I converted the programming from my Apex to GHL. Join the discussion, have some fun asking questions or answering some of mine, and I will attempt to show as much as possible!!
     

  2. Ditto

    Ditto Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018 Partner Member 2019

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    632
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    Came home today and the first shipment of GHL has arrived!!

    IMG_1067.JPG
    IMG_1068.JPG

    Now the real fun begins!!

    I want to thank Vinny for answering my week long worth of questions.

    Observations:
    Well Packaged overall no complaints on how it was boxed (No damage on Box, maybe it had something to do with all the red/yellow stickers on the box)
    IMG_1070.JPG
     
    Jomama, MaddyP, JoshH and 1 other person like this.
  3. HolisticBear

    HolisticBear Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor Reef Tank 365 Partner Member 2018 Partner Member 2019

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    3,548
    Location:
    NYC
    Congratulations. Following.

    I also recently joined the Profilux club.
     
    Clayton Jessup and Idoc like this.
  4. boozeman27

    boozeman27 Active Member R2R Supporter Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2017
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    352
    Location:
    Indiana
    Following!
     
  5. Ditto

    Ditto Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018 Partner Member 2019

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    632
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    Since this is going to be a switch over from Apex to GHL, here is a screen shot of my Apex Fusion for comparison. As we place each device online I will show some of the readings between the two also.

    baseline neptune.jpg

     
    Jomama and Txdragonslayer like this.
  6. radiata

    radiata Active Member NJRC Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2015
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    191
    Sounds like a real adventure! Looking forward to your updates...
     
  7. Angel125

    Angel125 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    BRONX NY
    Following sir
     
  8. JoshH

    JoshH Swimming in the deep end... R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Messages:
    2,240
    Likes Received:
    2,566
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Loving the direct comparison between the two set ups we will all be able to see with this thread. Excellent idea and I'm excited to see future updates!
     
    dricc and mckinleyw like this.
  9. Craig Skinner

    Craig Skinner Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Maine
    Excellent idea, following with great interest as I am still undecided between the 2 controllers for my future purchase!
     
  10. Idoc

    Idoc Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award MTRCMember Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    2,492
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    following... very interested in hearing the differences between the 2 systems!
     
    Reggae Reefer likes this.
  11. Ditto

    Ditto Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018 Partner Member 2019

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    632
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    Good Morning Everyone:

    Thank everyone for the comments and Follows.

    Always good to know where to find everything

    Now we need some GHL Manuals:

    ProFilux 4 Manual

    https://www.aquariumcomputer.com/downloads/profilux-4-manual/

    ProFilux Programming Guide
    https://www.aquariumcomputer.com/downloads/profilux-4-programming-guide-v7-02/

    Vortech-Controller Guide
    https://www.aquariumcomputer.com/downloads/vortech-controller-manual/

    Programmable Logic Instructions

    https://www.aquariumcomputer.com/downloads/programmable-logic-instructions/

    Seasonal Lighting Simulation
    https://www.aquariumcomputer.com/downloads/seasonal-lighting-simulation/

    ProFilux Touch Manual
    https://www.aquariumcomputer.com/downloads/profilux-touch-manual/

    Going to Need some software also

    GHL Control Center V1.0.9.0
    https://www.aquariumcomputer.com/downloads/ghl-control-center-v1-0-9-0/


    Software Download, Typical Zip file just double click on the zip file and then choose the application within, I had no issues on the install (I am on a Windows 10 PC)
    Folder.jpg
     
    Txdragonslayer and JoshH like this.
  12. Ditto

    Ditto Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018 Partner Member 2019

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    632
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    My Plan is to configure this via the USB cable, but I will also look to see if it can be done through the interface for people that do not have a computer with a USB connection.

    So the Ultimate Set Pictures
    IMG_1071.JPG
    Impression very well boxed no issues to report

    IMG_1072.JPG
    Calibration Fluid (Different then what comes in a Apex Unit they are typical small pouches, one time use)

    IMG_1073.JPG

    All the probes came in boxes, but this one which is the Temperature Probe.
     
    Be102 likes this.
  13. Ditto

    Ditto Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018 Partner Member 2019

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    632
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    Unit is Powered up, flashing Red (No probes Connected)

    Since the unit is constructed in Germany, English is not the default on the display.

    IMG_1076.JPG

    Press the Check Mark on the unit to bring up the Menu using the arrow keys scroll down until you Highlight Extra That the easy one it was in English on the Menu

    Once in the Extra menu using the arrow keys scroll down until you highlight Language oh wait Sprache hehe and again press the Check Mark

    IMG_1077.JPG

    Using the arrow keys scroll down until you highlight Language you wish to have your unit use, and press the check mark

    IMG_1078.JPG

    Sorry German is Rusty hehe, but I think this is Are you Sure hehe. Using the arrows click the one to the left to highlight ja and then press the check mark (Mine asked for me to do it twice)
    IMG_1079.JPG

    Whooohoo it now in English
     
  14. Dumaurier7

    Dumaurier7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    266
    Location:
    Carribean
    Congratulations
     
    Bunnee911 likes this.
  15. HolisticBear

    HolisticBear Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor Reef Tank 365 Partner Member 2018 Partner Member 2019

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    3,548
    Location:
    NYC
    Calibrating probes tripped me up for a bit. I didn't find any reference in the manual to the process and I couldn't find anything in GCC. I then figured out you do it via the unit display and all was fine. I was surprised I couldn't trigger the process thru GCC.

    I believe you can connect to it as an access point, log into it via your website browser, configure your WiFi, and then it will be online. I used USB for initial setup & firmware upgrade
     
  16. Cherub

    Cherub Valuable Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    1,307
    Location:
    Denver
    Nice, I ordered one of these earlier this week for my new build. Congrats
     
  17. Ditto

    Ditto Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018 Partner Member 2019

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    632
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    I was able to connect via USB, one mistake the link above I used was for the wrong version of software!!

    Correct Version below:
    https://www.aquariumcomputer.com/downloads/ghl-control-center-v1-0-9-8/

    Once Installed the Correct Software version configured it for COM 3 I was up and running!!

    Logged_in.jpg

    Was Able to Update the firmware in a few easy steps. No issues actually went very smoothly

    Connected to the Cloud Services

    myGHL configured.jpg

    And Configured the unit for a static IP through the Control Center and tested a direct connection to it (Logged in and presented with a default dashboard)
    Default_Page.jpg
     
  18. Ditto

    Ditto Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018 Partner Member 2019

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    632
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    Good Evening,

    I went down and renamed all the probes on the base unit. I have to say was quite easy, no fuss.

    Negative:
    Probe/Sensor List does not show the Description when you enter when in GHL Command center and expand the Probe/sensor controls, only seen when you click on it. (Not a biggie issue, but be nice to see not pH-vaule 1 but what the description is or allow us to name them also like Sump PH)

    Positive:

    Operational Hours of the Probe is a big plus (I tracked this in Aquarium Application and now the controller does it also)

    renaming probes.jpg

    I then went ahead and added new hardware within the P4 Unit.

    4 Screws from the Bottom of the unit and the top pops off (Very nice construction inside)

    Positive:
    No More chaining Modules together!!

    IMG_1081.JPG

    Card I am adding PLM-PH-Redox (I needed an additional ORP, and PH for the Reactors)
    IMG_1082.JPG

    Slides right into the slot with ease
    IMG_1083.JPG

    Pop the cover back on, and power up the unit. (Upon powering up detected the cards and showed on the display New Channel 4 and New Channel 5 Hardware Detected)

    And now two more Probe/sensor controls are on the list

    Added_Card.jpg

    For users not familiar with Neptune Fusion
    You Access probes for example through inputs from Fusion, or from the webpage of unit.
    Neptune_inputs.jpg

    Clicking on a probe provides basic and advance configuration (Probes in Neptune are Renamed to be displayed in inputs and panels, they do not have a description) (Screen shot below is my Sump Salinity Probe)
    Neptune_input_details.jpg
    input_advanced.jpg

    Accessing the modules area of allows you to see all modules connected to the Apex. Since I needed to have multiple PH probes, I needed to purchase multiple modules so I could connect my PH probes to them and connect the modules via via Aquabus cables. You can not add modules within an Apex unit.

    Neptune_Modules.jpg
     
    JoshH likes this.
  19. Ditto

    Ditto Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018 Partner Member 2019

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    632
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    Good Afternoon,

    Temperature Probe now in the Sump

    PH Probe Calibration: (Steps I took to do it)

    From the P4
    - Press Any key on the P4, and use the arrow down button and highlight Sensor Setting and press the check mark
    - Using the Arrow Key on the P4 highlight the Probe you wish to Calibrate and press the check mark mine was pH-value 1
    - Using the arrow keys scroll down the list and highlight Calibration and press the check mark
    - The display updates on the P4 and is now asking you for to set the calibration Tolerance make sure it is <1> mine was one to begin with and press the check mark
    - The display updates on the P4 and is now asking you for the first Tolerance level, I set mine to 07.00 using and press the check mark (To adjust the value use the arrow keys to move left and right and up and down to change the value)
    - The display updates on the P4 and is now asking you for the second Tolerance level, I set mine to 09.00 and press the check mark (To adjust the value use the arrow keys to move left and right and up and down to change the value)
    - The display updates on the P4 and is now asking you for the asking you to put the probe now in the 7.00 solution and press the check mark
    - Beep Sound
    - This display updates on the P4 and is now asking you for the asking you to put the probe now in the 9.00 solution and press the check mark
    - Beep Sound
    - This display updates on the P4 and is now asking you Save now press the left arrow key to highlight Yes (Box will show around it) and press the check mark

    Whooohoo Calibration Completed and now in the Sump.

    Positive:
    Even thou it had to be done from the P4, it was quite simple, easy to read, and cancel out of if you make a mistake
    I like the Nominal Value(Going to need to research what I want to set it to) and Nocturnal change (PH goes down at Night and now can adjust for it and not alarm)

    PH_set.jpg

    dashboard_Ph.jpg

    A few differences in reading from the Apex and the GHL.
    Sump_T (Sump Temperature) is showing a difference and Sump_p (Sump PH) also.

    base_neptune1.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2017
  20. Ditto

    Ditto Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018 Partner Member 2019

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    632
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    Salinity and ORP now online:

    Redox Probe Calibration: (Steps I took to do it)

    From the P4
    - Press Any key on the P4, and use the arrow down button and highlight Sensor Setting and press the check mark
    - Using the Arrow Key on the P4 highlight the Probe you wish to Calibrate and press the check mark mine was Redox 1
    - Using the arrow keys scroll down the list and highlight Calibration and press the check mark
    - The display updates on the P4 and is now asking you for to set the calibration Tolerance make sure it is <1> mine was one to begin with and press the check mark
    - The display updates on the P4 and is now asking you for the first Tolerance level, I set mine to 220.00 using and press the check mark (it defaulted to this)(To adjust the value use the arrow keys to move left and right and up and down to change the value)
    - Insert Null Plug
    - Beep Sound
    - This display updates on the P4 and is now asking you for the asking you to put the probe now in the 220.00 solution and press the check mark
    - Beep Sound
    - This display updates on the P4 and is now asking you Save now press the left arrow key to highlight Yes (Box will show around it) and press the check mark

    Calibration Completed and now in the Sump.

    ORP_Adjusted.jpg

    Salnity Probe Calibration: (Steps I took to do it)

    From the P4
    - Press Any key on the P4, and use the arrow down button and highlight Sensor Setting and press the check mark
    - Using the Arrow Key on the P4 highlight the Probe you wish to Calibrate and press the check mark mine was Conduct(S) 1
    - Using the arrow keys scroll down the list and highlight Calibration and press the check mark
    - The display updates on the P4 and is now asking you for to set the calibration Tolerance make sure it is <1> mine was one to begin with and press the check mark
    - The display updates on the P4 and is now asking you for the first Tolerance level, I set mine to 50.00 using and press the checkbox (it defaulted to this)(To adjust the value use the arrow keys to move left and right and up and down to change the value)
    - The display updates on the P4 and is now asking what Temperature probe should be used for variation I selected Temperature 1 (Right next to it in the Sump) and press the check mark
    - The display updates on the P4 and is now asking you for Specify the temperature of the calibration liquid in Celsius and press the check mark (To adjust the value use the arrow keys to move left and right and up and down to change the value)
    - The display updates on the P4 and is now asking you for Hold the sensor in the Air, press the check mark to start it
    - Beep Sound
    - The display updates on the P4 and is now asking you to immerse the probe into the calibration liquid. When you place it into the solution press the check mark
    - Beep Sound
    - This display updates on the P4 and is now asking you Save now press the left arrow key to highlight Yes (Box will show around it) and press the check mark

    Last one inserted into the Sump
    salinity_1.jpg
    Quick Observations, seems Salinity Probe is reading low, ORP also (But I now the ORP has to break in)
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
Loading...