To skim or not to skim, that is the question.

Discussion in 'General Equipment, Hardware, Filtration' started by InspectorGadget, Jan 5, 2018.

  1. InspectorGadget

    InspectorGadget Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2017
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    North Carolina
    As you can see in the title, that is my main question but, here is the background behind it:

    Up until last night, my main sps tank was a 40 gallon acrylic setup with sump and a Tunze Comline DOC 9004 DC skimmer. Worked great. I woke up yesterday morning to see a start of a 2” long separation in the middle of the bottom seam on one side of the tank. Only 1/8” of acrylic was left before water would start leaking all over my floor. I look at my tank every day so this had to be very recent. In a panic I spent the next 12 hours wiring, plumbing and preparing water for my Nuvo 20 I got for Christmas. I was able to move all my sps frags and my fish over to the Nuvo 20. I also moved almost an entire box of ceramic biomedia spheres I had in the 40, into the 20. Today I went and purchased 15 lbs of real reef rock 2.0 from my LFS for my rock work. I had my Tunze skimmer in the side of the tank to help but had to remove it today to fit the rock. Sorry for the book but I like to give more information than not enough. One side of the overflow on the Nuvo 20 I have chaeto with a chaetomax light. The other side I run BRS ROX .8 carbon. Do I really need a skimmer? On my 40 it was so hard to have any nitrates or phosphates to a point where I was about to dose nitrates. Is it worth trying to find a skimmer that would fit or is all of this overkill anyways? This tank will be just like my 40 as an sps dominant.
     
    GoVols likes this.

  2. GoVols

    GoVols "VFL" R2R Supporter Reef Squad R2R Excellence Award MTRCMember Reef Tank 365 Article Contributor Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2016
    Messages:
    7,122
    Likes Received:
    14,554
    Location:
    In-The-Boro, TN
    So, Your new tank is a 20 gallon?
     
  3. McMullen

    McMullen Valuable Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Messages:
    1,336
    Likes Received:
    945
    Location:
    Central Arkansas
    Nope.
     
    InspectorGadget and GoVols like this.
  4. GoVols

    GoVols "VFL" R2R Supporter Reef Squad R2R Excellence Award MTRCMember Reef Tank 365 Article Contributor Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2016
    Messages:
    7,122
    Likes Received:
    14,554
    Location:
    In-The-Boro, TN
    If it's a 20 gallon I'd just preform weekly water changes.
     
    InspectorGadget and McMullen like this.
  5. InspectorGadget

    InspectorGadget Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2017
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Yes
     
  6. InspectorGadget

    InspectorGadget Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2017
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    North Carolina
    That was my thought as well.
     
    GoVols likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
Loading...