What Trace elements should I buy?

Luckyduck

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I'm just getting started with my tank. Still cycling but getting my additive supply stocked up. I plan on keeping SPS & LPS. I want stunning corals (who doesn't) but I really want to focus on dosing some chemails I have not used in the past to help achieve optimal results. I have a 15 gallon column tank. My light sourse is an AI Prime 16HD. I'll start with what I already have. B-ionic; Alkalinity, Calcium & Magnesium. I have Red Sea's AB+ and Ferrion by Brightwell (to help my Cheato stay healthy and a Manvrove.) I have the Red Sea Foundation test kit for the Major elements. I am going to buy an iron test kit as well but wondering if I should just buy the Red Sea Coral colors test kit (iodine, potassium & iron). I was looking into a few additional additives from Brightwell. Strontion/Strontium (I will buy a test kit) BoroChrom (is there an at home test kit for Boron?) Potassion/Potassium and lastly Koral Color (seems that will be a good addition with the Red Sea AB+). I wish I could just contact Brightwell directly, I love their products but is anyone out there familiar with any of these products? Are any of them unnecessary because one of the other products already has it? I don't want to over dose! Randy I would love to hear your expertise.

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I personally think iodine and strontium are not useful, but experimenting with them may be a fine thing to do.

Don't get an iron kit. none can read low enough to detect natural levels, or even a thousand times the natural level. Just experiment with it (it certainly can be useful).

For true trace elements (most of the elements you mention are not), unless you are monitoring them by ICP, I would just try a commercial mix from some reputable company. Manganese, iron, zinc, vanadium, etc.

OP
OP
Luckyduck

Luckyduck

View Badges
Reaction score