32 Gallon BioCube Sump Help

AI Nero 5

Anthony Malagisi

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 10, 2017
Messages
155
Reaction score
30
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Hey everyone, I need some help/advice. Right now I have a 32 gallon biocube setup and running with 2 clowns and some soft corals, I want to add sump to my tank under the stand but I am having a lot of trouble deciding weather to drill my back glass or modify the lid and use a hang on the back type overflow box. Can anyone please help me decide. Also if I went the overflow method what one is recommended for the biocube
Thanks in advanced
Tony
 
Click to watch best scape method in 5 easy steps!

Jekyl

GSP is the devil and clowns are bad pets
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 15, 2019
Messages
6,112
Reaction score
9,922
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Michigan
In order to drill the tank (if the glass isn't tempered) you would have to completely empty it. Drilling requires the surface to be flat. For a HoB overflow check out eschopps.
 

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 11, 2013
Messages
51,355
Reaction score
114,915
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Wisconsin - Florida in several months
Glass is tempered. Best to utilize an overflow box
 
A Piece of the Ocean for Every Reef Tank

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 11, 2013
Messages
51,355
Reaction score
114,915
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Wisconsin - Florida in several months

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 11, 2013
Messages
51,355
Reaction score
114,915
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Wisconsin - Florida in several months

38bill

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jul 12, 2010
Messages
124
Reaction score
153
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
MINNESOTA
I drilled the back of my 29BC and kept the original in-tank overflow. I believe that the return from the sump just came up over the back. Mine used one drain pipe as a full syphon and the other the emergency drain. Here is a video of something sim with a 32BC. Check to make sure your tank back is not tempered.

 
Lazy's Coral House

BAMatter

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 30, 2020
Messages
114
Reaction score
103
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Merrimack
Why are you trying to add a sump out of curiosity? I have a fairly stocked BC32 and am struggling to keep any level of NO3 in my tank with a skimmer and fuge setup as it is...

Are you utilizing the rear chambers the best you can? IME you can have excellent filtration with the correct gear in these tanks...
 

BAMatter

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 30, 2020
Messages
114
Reaction score
103
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Merrimack
Always wondered why folks bought BC’s just to remove the lid, or drill... there are far better options if you want a rimless or drilled/drillable tank. Buying a BC just to gut it makes no sense, since the purpose of an AIO is to simplify things and keep everything fairly contained.
 
AI Nero 5

What would you buy RIGHT NOW if you found an AMAZING deal on it?

  • Equipment

    Votes: 360 52.7%
  • Dry Goods

    Votes: 18 2.6%
  • Fish

    Votes: 66 9.7%
  • Coral

    Votes: 177 25.9%
  • Other Livestock

    Votes: 6 0.9%
  • Nothing

    Votes: 47 6.9%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 9 1.3%
BSA
Top