• Bad

• I crashed my car into a lake, lost my job, and hit my pinky tone on a table

Results are only viewable after voting.

Coral Hygiene

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
HI R2R, its ya boi starting a budget 90 gallon reef tank. As the title suggests, I am a sophomore in highschool and I like reef tanks. I have been preparing over the past summer and I just finished setting up. Don't feel like writing an entire essay so here's a quick overview:
  • I got a used 90 gallon drilled tank on ebay for $175
  • New 40 gallon aqueon breeder for $50
  • 1/4 inch glass baffles for $30
  • big box of Instant Ocean reef salt for $50
  • 100 lbs of dry rock from Reef Cleaners for $180
  • 40 lbs of CaribSea live sand for $40
  • 2 Jebao PP-8 for $120
  • Jebao DCT- 6000 for $80
  • Reef Octopus Prime 150 INT for $175
  • 2 filter socks and holder for $30
  • used heater from my old tank
  • still saving up for more supplies
I built the stand and canopy with my dad over the summer and it came out really well, was about $250 in building materials. I started cycling this tank yesterday using Dr Tims ammonium chloride ($8) and 2 bottles of BioSpira bacteria ($30). Tested today and I have ammonia at 2 ppm, nitrite at 2 mg/L, nitrate at 5 mg/L, temp at 78, and pH at 8.1. I'll try to post updates once a week. Hopefully this build thread won't get boring. Here are some pics of my tank-
tank1.jpg
tank2.jpg
tank3.jpg

Last edited:
OP
OP
Coral Hygiene

Coral Hygiene

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The stand and canopy look great! Nice scape, have any stocking plans yet?

Thanks! Not sure what to add yet but I'm thinking of maybe a one spot foxface, a lawnmower blenny, melanurus wrasse, and a flame angel. Corals I'm thinking of mostly lps and euphyllia

OP
OP
Coral Hygiene

Coral Hygiene

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0