Apex salinity probe calibration

reefkeeperros

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, I've purchased brand new apex end of last year kept it in the box since as I was waiting for a new tank. So last night I've set everything up and I'm having hard time calibrating the salinity probe, even the first try when the probe was completely dry still failed, did tap the probe to get all the air out etc after multiple fails last night I left it to dry overnight. This morning same story it will settle the reading but next to "acceptable range" still have the red triangle. Any ideas how to get this sorted I'll order some new sachets for calibration is there anything else? I've seen people doing manual calibration but not sure how that works as I'm new to Apex. Any help is much appreciated thanks

T-J

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to owning an Apex! The salinity probes are a bit wonky. My suggestion:
Soak your calibration packet in your tank water to get it to temperature. Then run the calibration. If it fails, do it in manual mode.
The probe is very sensitive to bubbles, so make sure there aren't any. Also, I've learned that my probe and actual readings will never match. So, I use the probe as an alert system instead of the actual reading. So, if it's saying my water is 35.5ppm (even though it's actually 35ppm), and it drops to 34.5ppm, I know that I've had a significant drop. That's all I really need to know.

jokerman826

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0