Cleaner shrimp spawn

dzolot

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I apologize for the horrible video and picture quality, but i think my cleaner shrimp spawned tonight!!?? These are pictures of the pregnant mamma moments before. Video is of the spawn, but not sure it’s loaded correctly

anyway, my question is - how can i harvest some of these babies so that they live And grow??!!

i immediately turned off my skimmer. I have a 150G DT with a sump and a refugium and an ats.

any thoughts or suggestions On how to keep some of these babies alive would be greatly appreciated!! Also any information Or general knowledge on what i just witnesses and how cleaner shrimp reproduce would be great!

thank you!

E6171C7A-B863-459B-93CC-DF5F77F15129.jpeg

345C1A03-D14F-4700-904F-2D4653DAD54C.jpeg

KatesReef13

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I had a Cleaner Shrimp that did this in my first tank. I'm not an expert, but I wanted to save them too, however based on my research back then, you need to have a setup for them otherwise they probably won't survive.

Things could be different these days though, so maybe someone else will be able to help more. Sorry, wish I had some real advice :/

Good luck!

Uncle99

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Every cleaner is both a male and female thus you either bought it with eggs or you have two.
Assuming you have two, then each 14-21 days, he/she will flick her tail after lights go out and release those eggs.
Each little cleaner has an yokesack that’s good for about 12 hours, then, they will need to be fed.

So, there are a number of hurdles you must get beyond.

1. When they spawn in tank, mom, dad and anyone else will eat them. Powrheads, filters will kill them?