Cycling Tank, But High Nitrates

Kuhn

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi! I'm new here and I'm also new to the hobby! I just received a used 30 gallon tank as of last week.
During the past week I have been cycling my tank as one should do when starting a new saltwater tank. Thing is, my Nitrates are through the roof!
I just got my Nitrates Hanna checker a couple of days ago so I only have about 3 days worth of Nitrate testing.

First Nitrate test: 15ppm
2nd test (yesterday) 20th of July: 23ppm
Today 21st of July: 39 ppm

I have 2 clowns currently (I know cycling with fish isn't good but they were given to me with the tank and it's all I have :( it was donated to me )
I may be over feeding them. So I started being more mindful of feeding.

My question is... because my tank is being cycled still... I shouldn't be doing any water changes right?
I was looking around on the other high Nitrate threads and noticed a lot of people suggesting a water change to resolve the issue. But I was also told to not do a water change if I'm cycling. So I'm not sure what to do.

I did just install a small HOB refugium with some chaeto and ceramic media. I heard the refugium can help remove Nitrates but I'm wondering if it's just going to be slow and if I should just stick it out.

What do you all think?
(Please keep in mind I'm super new so be easy on me thanks in advance)

tankstudy

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'd run an ammonia and nitrite test to see where they are at.

-If both are zero, at that point, I'd recommend a water change to bring your nitrates down to about 10-15 ppm.

-If they aren't zero, I'd let the bacteria continue to grow more to deal with the two until they zero out and then proceed with appropriate size water change.