First Reef Tank Biocube 32

TarheelGrey

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello All! I am new to the Aquarium Hobby, have always loved reef tanks and have decided that I want to try my hand at it. So of course I jump with both feet into the deep end and try to set myself up for success. Been lurking for a little bit during my learning process (Primarily BRS/SWA and other Beginner Tank build series on YouTube) and was deciding if I wanted to post a Build thread or not. I decided the advice and conversation would benefit my entry into the Hobby!

So here is what I have put together!

5 Stage RO/DI Station with 2x 32gal Brutes. 1 RO/DI. 1 Salt (Tropic Marin Pro Reef).

Display Tank - BioCube 32 LED
Eheim Jager 100w X2 in first chamber. (One set at 77 as the main heater. One set at 75 for backup if the primary fails off... will still maintain 75.)
Inkbird ITC 308. Set for 78. (I chose this one because it has heating and cooling plugs. I know BioCubes can have high temp problems, so planning ahead if I have to add a fan.)
I am using the Internal Eheim thermometers to control the temps. The Inkbird for failure recovery if the Eheim fails on... it will cut power at 78.
InTank Media Basket in 2nd Chamber (Left half empty at the moment. Don't know what I want to do here yet. Probably Cheato at some point. Planning to run Pinky floss and carbon on the top shelf. Rest is full of 25 MarinePure Balls. (Is this too high flow area for ceramic media? Should I move it to the empty half or 1st/3rd chamber and use the lower half of media basket for Chaeto?)
Sicce 1.5 in 3rd chamber.

Hygger 3400 GPH Wavemaker. Removed. I didn't like the fish guard on there because it just trapped food and I don't like the larger 'intake' openings.

Hygger Mini 1600 GPH Wavemaker Ill post the settings after I have a chance to play with them.

~25lbs Dry Rock
Fiji Pink Sand

Quarantine/Hospital Tank
10 Gal Aqua Culture