irescuedogs

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sorry this is kind of a long question..
I’m new to saltwater tanks so bare with me.
I have a 30 gallon tank and right now I have a perc clown and an ocellaris. The perc was in the tank first and I added the ocellaris about 3 weeks after. This was about 2 months ago. The perc is quite a bit bigger than the other. At first the larger fish showed dominance nothing too crazy. Checked the little one here and there but they aren’t bonding at all. The little one tries to be close to the other and the other will tolerate it just check him from time to time. The little one seemed so lonely and being new to this game and being uneducated I went and got another ocellaris. I know I should have researched before j got him but I ended up doing it after since this little guy stole my heart. Hes the same size as the little one and they seem like they really want to be together. I have the newest in a quarantine tank. The perc seems to be checking the little one more now since the newest came in. I’m trying to do this in the safest way so no one gets hurt. So here’s my question. Do I get a 4th and add the two newest as a pair with the other two? Do I seperate the perc in a different tank and pair up the 2 ocellaris? I don’t want to get rid of any of them but I want to make sure they’re safe. Someone please help me!!

OP
OP
I

irescuedogs

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I can’t just give one up it’s against everything I stand for. I work in animal rescue so I’m not one to give up.

NeonRabbit221B

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R btw. You can do that, its a slippery slope though. What would you do if you placed him into the 55 with another perc clown and they do not pair? That is exactly how I ended up with 3 SW tanks running.