Hello from Ireland

Jess18

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all, just wanted to introduce myself.

I am new to the saltwater hobby. I have a 65 gallon tank. It's been up and running for almost 2 weeks now.

I added reeflowers pearl white sand and some dead rock which I had in a bucket for approx 2 weeks along with a powehead and heater before adding to the tank.

Also have 2 powerheads and a canister filter, no sump here, it's basically a freshwater tank been used for saltwater. Don't ask why, it just happened :)

So far I have 2 x Clownfish and what I believe is a Bicolor Angelfish.

The Clownfish have been in there since day one (added them along with ATM Marine) and the Anglefish was added a week later.

Everything is looking good right now but I am seeing a lot of brown spots on my white sand and rock?

Any ideas what the brown spots are, maybe diatoms??

nautical_nathaniel

Indecision may or may not be my problem.
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R! :D

Post pictures! We love pictures!

The brown spots are likely diatoms since they are common with a brand new tank, nothing to worry about unless every surface in the tank is covered by them and they should go away in time with careful nutrient management :)

Tahoe61

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi and Welcome to R2R. :)

Based on the age of your tank you're mostly likely seeing Diatoms and perhaps the beginnings of Cyanobacteria. The tank is young and it's going to be less than pretty for a month or so. Use RODI water, check chemistry, adjust lighting period as indicated, and do not over feed and in 3-6 months you should see less algae and diatom (diatoms utilize the silicates from the new tank and equipment) development.

Turbo's Aquatics

Super Duper Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R!