Help Identifying New Fish

MB279

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
TLDR: help me ID this fish I bought, I think it was mislabeled/represented and I’m new to this

Hi all, new to the saltwater aquarium world. I used this forum to get me started and would like to say thanks for all the help and info I’ve received so far just by reading though previous threads. With that said I went today to my LFS to get some food and ended up buying what was advertised as a Stellatus puffer. Now we had been looking into puffers and were going to add a blue spotted puffer but this little guy was adorable and closer in size to our clowns so we asked if it would be compatible with our set up and we’re told yes no problem. However, this fish doesn’t look like a starry puffer which is what comes up when we type in Stellatus Puffer. Body is black spots are yellow/gold on our fish and the belly doesn’t seem striped. Not sure if it’s actually a spotted boxfish? It’s also apparently going to be much bigger than we intended if it is a starry puffer. Hindsight is 20/20, probably should have googled it prior to buying it but we felt the guy knew what he was talking about and trusted him but now I’m not so sure? Let me know your thoughts, really want to make sure we have what we were told mainly because I need to make sure our set up is okay for it. Thanks!!

7D5FC3BE-779C-4F09-85A9-904E4802CD90.jpeg 99BF5A79-DF43-4693-93EB-D3FEDE99731D.jpeg 2F3F60F0-B4D8-4D8B-B76E-FC2B5C511A43.jpeg

SudzFD

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
TLDR: help me ID this fish I bought, I think it was mislabeled/represented and I’m new to this