Help with Hammer Coral

kdtorgy

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to the hobby and need a little help. have a 150 gallon reef tank with mostly softies which are all doing fine. I got a hammer coral about 3 weeks ago that closed up shortly after I added it (dipped first) and has not opened yet. It's in medium flow. I've tired low par (about 50) and higher PAR (about 100) with no luck. I've also got an older frog spawn that regressed due to high nitrates (50-70) that has started coming back after I got my nitrates lower and stable with NoPOx. The hammer was added after nitrate reduction and stabilization. During the last 5 weeks, I've added the following corals, which are all ding fine: gobstopper zoas, Hollywood stunner chalice, burning banana stylo, yellow cyphastrea, green mushroom, green star polyps and an acan. Here are my parameters:

Salinity: 1.025
Temp: 79-80
Alk: 9-10 dKh
Ca: 450-500
Mg: 1400
Ammonia and nitrite: 0
nitrate: 5-10
phosphate 0.05 to 0.1
pH: 7.9 to 8.1

Coral foods are Reef Energy AB+ every other day (25 mL)
Reef Roids/Reef Chili every 2-3 days broadcast feed
Phytyfeast every 2-3 days

I'm also dosing RedSea Trace elements every other day and Chaetogro every other day for my sump fuge. I did an ICP test and everything is in range except the following:

Bromide, Boron and Strontium are a tad low but zinc and iron are pretty high (24 ppm and 17 ppm, respectively). I'm thinking those are elevated because of the ChaetoGro.

Can anyone see anything striking wrong and suggest a fix?

IMG_2466.jpeg IMG_2467.jpeg

_Jake_Simek_

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone,