Howto: 0-10v Control Return Pump

Discussion in 'GHL Advanced Technology' started by Marco@GHLUSA, Nov 17, 2016.

  1. Marco@GHLUSA

    Marco@GHLUSA GHL Team R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    285
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    Several Return pumps allow external 0-10v flow adjustments.

    These types of pumps can very easily be controller through the ProfiLux and it's available 0-10v L ports (Yellow)


    [​IMG]


    To get started, you need to have either:
    • GHL compatible 0-10v cable for your pump.
    OR
    • GHL LBF-AP module - Connects to L port and provides terminal pinout for connecting bare wires (-/+) 0-10v signal



    With this we can set the speed/flow of the pump, throttle it down at night time, increase for thunderstorm and/or decrease for feedings.

    In my example, we're going to set the return pump for consistent flow - no wave motion or increase/decrease during normal use.

    It's all in the Stream Group setting. In my case, I use Streamgroup 8, I added my RD3 10v interface on L3 to the group, and set it:
    Mode: Permanent
    Waves: no waves
    * Add Pump#: 3

    We will set the running power to 60%, 25% during Feed Cycle, and 100% for wild flow during thunderstorms.

    Edit pump 3 for:
    Minimum: 25
    Maximum: 60
    (running power)
    Night: 40
    Thunderstorm
    : 100
    Behavior for feed:
    minimum

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]



    Please let me know if you have questions or need assistance with building a program for you.
     
    Tags:

  2. Dumaurier7

    Dumaurier7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    233
    Location:
    Carribean
    Seems pretty straightforward but I'd like to see how you'd set up a circular like a GYRE .
     
  3. Marco@GHLUSA

    Marco@GHLUSA GHL Team R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    285
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    Very simple.

    You'll need a Gyre, the model respective IceCap 0-10v interface, and you can either modify the APEX cable, or pickup the LBF-AP module for an easy screw terminal connection.

    We're going to use StreamGroup #7 for the Gyre programs - You may use whichever you desire, this is what I used, and will be shown below:

    I assigned Port/Pump #5 to Stream Group #7 - the groups are a programming grouping.
    Set Mode to Permanent if you only have 1 Gyre in this group.
    Set Mode to Permanent Opposite if you have 2 Gyres and want to reverse flow between the 2 units.

    I set waves to Right Angle - this is a MIN to MAX, like a ON/OFF - not a ramping style output. You can also ramp up/down..
    I set my pump#5 for 10% - 100% w/ 35% night time.

    [​IMG]

    Then assigned the Stream Pump #5 to my L5 port..

    [​IMG]

    Now you can plug in the pump's interface into the respective L port on the controller or expansion box ... and enjoy the Gyre.
     
  4. Dumaurier7

    Dumaurier7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    233
    Location:
    Carribean
    Thank you for your guidance , it will save me alot of time when I do this.
     
  5. authentic

    authentic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    290
    Location:
    coral springs florida
    any chance of someone doing this for apex?
     
  6. revhtree

    revhtree Owner Administrator Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Photo of the Month Award Article Contributor Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    36,136
    Likes Received:
    27,131
    Thanks for this how to! Nice job!
     
  7. Dumaurier7

    Dumaurier7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    233
    Location:
    Carribean
    Hi Marco, I can't seem to locate any information on wiring/connecting the LBF-AP Module , can you expand on this ststement? "You'll need a Gyre, the model respective IceCap 0-10v interface, and you can either modify the APEX cable, or pickup the LBF-AP module for an easy screw terminal connection."
     
  8. Jerel

    Jerel Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    Upper Marlboro, Maryland
    Here's a video !

     
  9. Matthias Gross

    Matthias Gross GHL Team R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    160
    Hey, great job! We added this to the GHL YouTube playlist
     
  10. Dumaurier7

    Dumaurier7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    233
    Location:
    Carribean
    U guys are truly awesome!
     
  11. Rory's Reef

    Rory's Reef Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    252
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    I'm currently looking into switching to the Profilux 4, but I'm trying to figure out if my skimmer and return pump are compatible. I currently have the Reef Octopus VarioS-6 for a return pump and a Deltec SC1351 as my skimmer. Are either of these capable of having the Profilux control their speed?
     
  12. Marco@GHLUSA

    Marco@GHLUSA GHL Team R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    285
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    http://www.bulkreefsupply.com/varios-6-controllable-dc-pump-1720-gph-reef-octopus.html
    As for your skimmer, it looks like the SC1351 has a DC powered pump with controller, but you'd have to reach out to Deltec, or their reps to see if the controller is externally adjustable via 0-10v. If so, then the ProfiLux could control it. Check with @Battlecorals
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2017
    Rory's Reef likes this.
  13. Lasse

    Lasse Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Leader Reef Tank 365 Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    2,181
    Likes Received:
    4,929
    Location:
    Källarliden 14 D Bohus, Sweden
    The skimmer pump to Deltec SC 1351 looks for me to be a 2000DC Jebao pump. It looks like them and the control is identical. Jebao use 0-5 V. It’s possible to do a DIY and control the pump through Profilux. At the 1-10 V interface in the GCC you can change the span to 0 – 5 V. I have not test with the Deltec SC1351 skimmer (I have one by myself) but with other Jebao DC pumps and wavemakers – it works well.


    Sincerely Lasse
     
    Rory's Reef and TangledUpInBlue like this.
  14. Rory's Reef

    Rory's Reef Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    252
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    Thanks for the quick response! I currently have a cord that is allowing me to control the Reef Octopus through the Apex. It connect to the RO through a 0-10v stereo port and the other end connects to the apex with an RJ-45 end. Will this work with the Profilux or would I need to purchase the LBF-AP module? Thanks for your help

    Thanks. I might give that a try. If not, Oh well, I don't really need to control the skimmer speed anyways, just something else to play with :).
     
  15. Dumaurier7

    Dumaurier7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    233
    Location:
    Carribean
    I think controlling the skimmer becomes critical when the return pump/s are controlled! When the pump speed changes the level of the sump also changes , if it slows down enough the sump level can go high enough to cause the skimmer to overflow. I have not installed myP4 yet so I am adjusting the speed of my L1 manually, every so often I experience this issue.
     
  16. Rory's Reef

    Rory's Reef Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    252
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    I'll still have the skimmer plugged into the power bar so that I can turn it off when I feed or if I mess with the return pump. I just don't really need to control the DC pump speed of the skimmer. That really doesn't change anyways.
     
  17. Dumaurier7

    Dumaurier7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    233
    Location:
    Carribean
    U will have to install a high level switch to shut Down the skimmer.
     
  18. Rory's Reef

    Rory's Reef Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    252
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    I'm not sure I'm understanding. Why would I need a level switch? Why wouldn't I just have the ProfiLux shut down the skimmer when I hit the feed mode?
     
  19. Dumaurier7

    Dumaurier7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    233
    Location:
    Carribean
    It's not about the feed mode, when the pump pulls less the sump level rises ..........yes I know it is supposed to balance out , but it finds equilibrium at a higher level when the pump slows down .The sump operates at different levels based on the return pump flow and speed, especially if you are feeding reactors too.
     
  20. BeachBum2012

    BeachBum2012 Active Member Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    164
    Location:
    South Gate, CA
    At this point when you reference modifying the APEX cable, do you mean snipping off the plug and replacing it with an RJ12 plug that could be used directly into the 0-10V interface on the back of the ProfiLux? If so, what is the pin out for that plug? I can't seem to find it anywhere easily. Thanks
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
Loading...