Losing battle against algae, help with next steps

m3rcfh

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi guys
I have been fighting this battle against algae for the last 8 months and I can't find a way to make it recede. It has been always getting worse and now it is at the point that the wife is having seconds thoughts about having the tank.

I will try to post as much detail as I can, let me know if I missed something.

Inhabitants: Yellow Tang (about 4"), Royal Gramma, pair of Clowns, 2 Chromis, Lawnmower Blenny and a Diamond Goby that is missing for several weeks (probably dies under a rock?). 2 emerald crabs. Most recently got a snail pack from Reefcleaners, but most of them died (all Nerites are gone).
The Yellow Tang is getting big and I feel bad for it, so I'm thinking in re-homing it soon.

Tank & Equipment: 75g with 20g sump, setup for about 1year and 8months. ReefOctopus Varios 4 on lowest setting for return, Nyos Quantum 120, Tunze ATO, Tunze Wave Maker (on medium setting), 2 AI Hydras HD on 40% (was 60% until 2 monthgrowth. 15 gallon water changes every 2 or 3 weeks. Only RODI water. Rocks purchased dry from BRS, cheap purple kind that looks line coraline.

Methods tried: dosed H2O2 for 3 months last year, didn't seem to change algae growth. Lowered light intensity and duration. Run Chemipure & Purigen on sump. Trying Vibrant for the last 3 weeks, also no change (algae seem stronger and greener now). Reduced feeding to once every other day. Syphon all the algae and detritus during every water change.

I noticed ths live rock has a lot of detritus at this point, so I try to syphon as much as I can. Tried brushing the algae a couple of time but made too big of a mess, so decided to syphon only.

So for next steps I'm thinking:
1. Spot treat with H2O2
2. Blackout for 3 days
3. If 1 and 2 don't work, remove rocks and let it dry on the sun, then try to clean them with a brush.

Also sump has constant bacteria deposits, not sure why.