Reefer37

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys, so I'm still fairly new to reefing and this is my first wrasse and I've never had a parasite issue before, so bare with me.

Couple days ago got a Melanurus Wrasse from my LFS and never noticed anything on him when I got him and hadn't noticed any weird behavior at the store. He was eating great and very energetic. Well today during feeding he started doing this quick rub against the rocks every now and then. I haven't really seem him do it much since, but I did notice this white dot near the back end of his tail. Should I be worried?? I didn't QT because I use this LFS all the time and never had issues and they've always been top notch, but now I'm worried he may have ick. Any recommendations on what to do or thoughts? Like I said, he's been eating great and very energetic. I also read that they may do this as part of hunting for pods?

Any help is very appreciated!

IMG_20200120_213759.jpg Screenshot_20200120-214740.png

#1Fellowreefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You should be fine just keep an eye on him if you see more spots develop then it might be a concern but for now he looks great. Also just for future reference use safety stop bath if you don’t QT as that will help you considerably. See the link

Kzang

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 75%
6   2   0
I have ich in my tank (practicing ich management) and I have 4 wrasses. All my wrasses sometimes scratch the rock. I was thinking it was a hunting for pods, but it usually means ich.
My wrasses usually only slightly show it on the fins...its really hard to see. If they are scratching, they have flukes or ich, and it looks like ich.

Be on the lookout for it. I have 2 tangs and 4 wrasses, 2 which are sand burrowers, so it was impossible for me to catch them all. Just try to keep stress free and feed good foods. Wrasses have more natural defense with their slime coat for ich.