Moving Time? My Advice to You.

Evan West

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

Welcome!

Hello all, I am what I would consider to be somewhat of an expert on moving a reef tank. I say this because due to the way my college works I move every 3 months......gasp! yes yes I know bring on the nay sayers! "That's bad for your reef they need stability!".......and yes your right it would be better to not do this but it is possible to do, you should check my build thread, I think my tank is doing just fine (aside from my own stupidity at times) if you ask me ;). At any rate I have 3 years of experience moving tanks every 3 months, the first 2 were freshwater and that last year has been salt. I have never lost a fish or coral due to a move and have never caused a tank crash. So then on to the good stuff:

IMG_4752.JPG

Things to Consider

There are a number of considerations to be made here and really this process is only feasible up to a certain size tank and then some of it will become unfeasible so take it with a grain of salt. Also the key is being able to immediately set the tank back up or have a new tank or temporary tank to put your livestock in. You will need to consider:

• Aerobic bacteria need air

• Tank size

• Rock size and number

• Distance of move

• Setup and takedown procedure

• Emergencies

• Ect

So let's get into it.

Aerobic Bacteria!