New Reefer still in the planning phase.

madoleh

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone,
My name is Moe and new to saltwater tanks. I'm an IT professional in the Chicagoland area. I'm still deciding what I want to do and go with. In the past, I've had freshwater aquariums.
I'm trying to find the right setup for a beginner and looking at setups around 50g. Not trying to break the bank since this is my first attempt at saltwater.
The RS Reefer Max 200 g2+ caught my eye because it comes with everything needed to automate (my geekness kicks in when I can automate everything after the tank is fully setup).
What is everyone's thoughts on this?
I'm interested at hearing what everyone recommends.

Ocean_Queenie

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello & Welcome
IMG_8890.jpeg

shakacuz

hang loose, cuz
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
6   0   0
welcome aboard the r2r board! :)

i'm not experienced in the many different tank setups you can get from those well known vendors, but i do have my eye on the IM Nuvo series since RedSea seems to be having a seam issue in some of their tanks.

Reef By Steele

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
18   0   0
Welcome to the reef. I have several Red Sea tanks from the 75 gallon 350 to the 210 gallon S1000. Love them. As for automating, Red Sea offers a lot, but my LFS got me started with the Neptune Apex systems and I have them running all of my tanks (7).

bvanfish

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone,
My name is Moe and new to saltwater tanks. I'm an IT professional in the Chicagoland area. I'm still deciding what I want to do and go with. In the past, I've had freshwater aquariums.
I'm trying to find the right setup for a beginner and looking at setups around 50g. Not trying to break the bank since this is my first attempt at saltwater.