New to hobby dealing with ich

StreetSquid

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, I’ve been running a 75 gallon for about 3 months and have a few fish and goby’s as well as a decent clean up crew. I also have a few beginner corals like GSP, Zoa’s and Xenia’s. About 4 days ago I noticed ich on my flame angel, and researched some treatments and cures. I learned about copper being the sure fire way to kill the parasites but it will also kill coral. Later I read somewhere that if the infected fish keeps eating it will live through the cycle. My flame angel was well fed and supplemented with peas and a little garlic. About an hour ago I noticed my sailfin tang is also infected and not doing well, floating on the bottom, on its side. I tried to feed it but no luck. It was even so weak it got stuck to a filter intake but I quickly saved it. I have to take some action before all my fish get ich. I don’t have a quarantine tank and there is a lot of stacked rock in my tank so catching the fish would be a pain. However, I have a lot less coral frags that I could take out, but I only have my two Fluval hang on filters and can’t spare them as they are essential. Could I take my corals out and put them in a storage bin with some tank water and an LED and power head while I treat my tank with copper? Thanks

Old Fritz

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You could do that for your corals. Or you can get an aquarium at petco as they are on sale for a dollar per gallon right now. The eating thing is in theory true but in practice its wrong. If the fish continues to eat and doesnt suffocate or get a secondary infection from ich it could survive if every bit of ich on it was on the same schedule and they all came off at once. However that doesnt happen as they come off at different times and if there are other fish its probably on the other fish

bluprntguy

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0