SICK MAROON CLOWN

sp314

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi I am new to the saltwater hobby. I have a had my pair of gold nugget maroon clowns for about a year now and they have seemed to be healthy up until today. My male clown if sitting on the bottom of the tank not moving, not eating and is breathing heavy. The female is very active breathing normal and eating fine so I don’t know what the problem is. I’ve been watching it for a 3 days now and am stuck. I tested my water as well and everything seems okay. If anyone has some advice or suggestions I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you.

Attachments

• IMG_1420.MOV
    15.3 MB
  • IMG_1417.MOV
    46.5 MB
OP
OP
sp314

sp314

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Some details about the tank

Temperature:78
Salinity :35 or 1.025
Ph: 8.2-8.4
Nitrite: 0ppm
Nitrate:0-5ppm
Ammonia: 0.25-0.5ppm

test kit is api marine saltwater master test kit

I just had done a water change on the tank one week ago and added Fritz zyme 9 when changing. Which is what I always have done and has always been okay.

tank size is 60 gallons and it’s just sand rocks and fish. It’s been set up for over a year. Since June 2021.

I just added some matrix carbon by sea Chem as well as ammo lock by api today to help the ammonia. Is there anything else I should do to try and help my male clown ? Thanks again.

Jay Hemdal

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The female clown is breathing a bit fast as well, just not as fast as the male. There is a lot of free-floating food in the tank. The female isn't going after that, so you need to add less food at any one time, and always siphon out the excess food (unless you have lots of CUC that you need to feed).

I suspect that the ammonia is a false positive - API kits can do that. Unless the tank has been grossly overfed, you won't have ammonia in a tank that's been set up for this long.