Skimmer Q&A Thread

Discussion in 'General Equipment, Hardware, Filtration' started by mojo, Jul 16, 2009.

  1. reeftivo

    reeftivo skim junkie R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    Chino, California
    check out the nuvoskim DC internal. that may have your dimensions. the 9001 may not fit in that 4 x 2.97 area. that's the spot i would put a skimmer in since it would be more stable. you're very limited unless you go hang-on.
     

  2. New reefer11

    New reefer11 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ok, I’ll look into it thanks. I don’t have the room to do a hung on so I’m stuck with internal
     
  3. Yanos

    Yanos Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Can anyone help me with this plz
     
  4. reeftivo

    reeftivo skim junkie R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    Chino, California
    is the body of the skimmer milked out like usual?

    have you played with the valve/lever on the top to see if the internal level rises or lowers?

    most importantly, have you cleaned it and checked that the air intake venturi is clear of salts or carbonate build up?

    if there was significant carbonate build up or salts in that venturi then letting it dry out a bit while you were transferring to in-sump may have plugged it more.

    try taking the air line off the pump and just let the water pull through the intake nipple and the pump for a half hour or so (give or take). Then re-attach the air line and see if there is improvement.

    I'm not that familiar with that skimmer so i can only suggest the things i mentioned. It looks like a newer version of the old turbofloater which i used to have. My Turbofloater never performed well for me unfortunately.

    report back and good luck
     
  5. Lonny

    Lonny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    282
    Location:
    Eugene Oregon
    This might have been asked before. Has anyone ever fed the effluent from a calcium reactor into the water intake on a skimmer before? Is so did it help bring the ph of the effluent up, did the skimmer go nuts and overflow? Is there a chance it could skim out some of calc and alk?
     
  6. reeftivo

    reeftivo skim junkie R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    Chino, California
    in my opinion it would be best to run it into the sock/drain area. it will get aerated and some of the effluent will end up getting to the skimmer. If you plumb direct to the skimmer intake, it will be near impossible to guage the effluent rate since the skimmer intake creates considerable suction. Also, if you plumb direct to the skimmer intake you run the risk of that high alk and calcium water precipitating onto the pump impeller. People have tried that before.

    if your really dead set on trying it then maybe the injector assembly from pax bellum could be configured. it is for their algae reactors so they can use the CO2 for growth.
    https://uniquecorals.com/collection...ctor-and-feed-assembly?variant=19061380841526
     
    Lonny likes this.
  7. Lonny

    Lonny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    282
    Location:
    Eugene Oregon
    Thanks! Didn't think about the pump getting calcified. That's a great idea! I could plumb it to the overflow on the back of the tank. Thinking that's what I'll do. Thanks again for the info!
     
  8. reeftivo

    reeftivo skim junkie R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    Chino, California
    10-4.

    lots of aeration going on in those overflows :). That's where i run mine. without my CO2 scrubber my pH holds pretty steady at 8.1-8.2.

    with my CO2 scrubber off the skimmer i get into the 8.3 to 8.4 range. Still, 8.1-8.2 is fine. I was just looking for more growth by increasing pH a bit ;)
     
    Lonny likes this.
  9. Blooming123

    Blooming123 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    41
    Hi Mojo!
    Wanting to upgrade the skimmer for a 120 gallon with 55 gallon sump. I currently have a 10 year old Remora pro HOB from a 75 gallon that was transferred over so I would have time to decide what to purchase. That was almost a year ago... light on fish, so it’s been good so far. Now wanting to add some more fish but afraid it won’t keep up. Unfortunately when we set up the sump there wasn’t much room between the two tanks(8.5 inches) so likely need a new HOB or and inline skimmer. Any recommendations? Was trying to keep it around $300-400.
    RB
     
  10. DarrenCar

    DarrenCar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Upstate
    Building a 65 gallon display with 20 gallon sump. Going to have rock, fish and some soft corals down the line. Will a Reef Octo sss 110 be a sufficient skimmer for this setup?
     
  11. Blaque Kuchel

    Blaque Kuchel Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Indiana
    I have a quick question about the Bubble Magus Curve 5 and Curve 5 Elite. There is about a $90.00 price difference in the skimmers. Can anyone tell me if the differnce truly justified in spending the extra money?
     
    Bob Escher likes this.
  12. Bob Escher

    Bob Escher Welcome to Saltwatef R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2015
    Messages:
    2,681
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Location:
    Nashotah Wisconsin
    i had the older version of the five. I have the new elite version now. To be honest with you I don’t see any difference
    But unless there is a specification difference I can’t see any. Save your money
     
  13. Cthehentz

    Cthehentz Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    What do you guys think about SKIMZ and Simplicity protein skimmers?
     
  14. Blaque Kuchel

    Blaque Kuchel Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Indiana
    I have a 20g Long sump that I am building for my 90G tank. I was looking at a Curve A5 and Curve 5 Elite. I know the A5 has 24w DC pump and a smaller footprint and the Elite has a 18w and Sicce 200 pump.....is there a big differnce here in the $5 price change and what do you think would be better for my new fuge?
     
  15. reeftivo

    reeftivo skim junkie R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    Chino, California
    tough call. not familiar with the A5 pump, but sicces are solid performers. the sk200 can be had for like 70 bucks online if you ever need a replacement which is doubtful.

    the DC pumps are nice though, and IME are much quieter than AC pumps in general. Their extra control is nice too.
     
  16. stanleo

    stanleo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Had a 55 gallon 4 years ago that had to break down. Started a 120 gallon reef tank a couple weeks ago and just finished the cycling. The skimmer I ordered was way to too tall to fit with the tank hood so I used my old skimmer for the 55. The bubbles coming out of it are crazy. Will this dissipate over time or should I buy a new one? Is there something I can do for it? I don’t know what kind of skimmer it is. I know it’s from Instant Ocean and has a 3 inch diameter main chamber and about 18 inches tall.
     
  17. reeftivo

    reeftivo skim junkie R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    Chino, California
    is this in sump or hang on? you mentioned the new skimmer was too tall for the hood. sorry for my confusion.

    micros usually will go away after a day or so after the skimmer developes a slime coating. was the old skimmer cleaned up? if so, it will need to slime up again before micros subside.
     
  18. reeftivo

    reeftivo skim junkie R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    Chino, California
    if the old skimmer is an instant ocean sea clone skimmer then you're better off with a different skimmer. many of us refer to sea clones as "sea clowns". many of us bought them waaay back when and were bummed with the lack of performance.

    no sump?
     
  19. stanleo

    stanleo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Sea clone sounds familiar. And thanks for the slime coat advise. Hopefully it will calm down in a few days. I remember the thing I hated about it was the difficulty in setting it just right. But I thought that was typical of all skimmers. Is that not the case? And no, no sump. It’s a hang on the back.
     
  20. reeftivo

    reeftivo skim junkie R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    Chino, California
    some suggestions:

    AquaMaxx ConeS HOB Hang-On-Back Protein Skimmer
    Reef Octopus Classic 2000 HOB Protein Skimmer

     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

Loading...