Something isnt right....need some help!

Torqued

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok folks, first off I am a fairly experienced reefer. Ive been doing this for over 13 yrs and have had extremely successful sps tanks previously. However, this latest tank has given me problems like ive never had from day 1. Mostly due to algae, cyano or some combination. Currently all my corals are just ticked. None of them but the gorgs, gsp, toadstool look good. The zoos are awful too. All have either lost tissue or have poor extension, not opening. I have done all i can think of, including backed off lights by over half, increased feedings and have solid flow.

Nitrate - 3ppm
Po4 - .01 (hanna uln meter)
Ca - 450
Mg - 1350
Alk - 10 dkh
Iodide -.04

I also recently dosed some iodide because a previous triton test showed no iodine

Ive done numerous water changes, but they aren't helping.

Today i blew off the rocks, which appears to have either diatoms or cyano. Blowing off the rocks ticked everything off. Everything but the gorg immediately closed up tight. I suspect whatever i blew off the rocks is what has everything irritated. I dont think its cyano because i did also run chemiclean last week and it didnt touch it, so i suspect its diatoms. This is very odd for a 1.5 yr old tank if thats the case!

Water change water is 0 tds rodi, so silicates is highly unlikely.

Something to note....this tank is 3/4 Marco Rocks....but even the other rock all had to be dried out between moves (tank was down for a year).

Turning off the protein skimmer for 24 hrs or more also ticks everything off. Which supports the theory that something in the water column is irritating the corals.

I left for a week and turned the skimmer off, came home to everything super ticked and tissue recession.

I need some ideas...cause i am fresh out!

Here are some pics:

2bbed28fa85da96da49e421d5317e92a.jpg
cfae432af9ce5913507eeebc6558b6d5.jpg
93a7b8f6f1074e95fa6be3a3def85d03.jpg