Tank cycling question

adamsjus002

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello! I’m new to the hobby. I’m in the process of cycling a 29 gallon tank. Have live rock, dry rock, live sand. And by recommendation used Fritz Turbostart 900. But I’m confused. added ammonia to get things going. I’ve been testing the last five days. As of today ammonia is present and between .25-.5ppm. 5-10ppm of nitrate is present. But I never saw any nitrite. I need guidance. Am I doing something wrong? I’m sure this question has been asked a million times. I just don’t want to screw anything up.

Fish Think Pink

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello! I’m new to the hobby. I’m in the process of cycling a 29 gallon tank. Have live rock, dry rock, live sand. And by recommendation used Fritz Turbostart 900. But I’m confused. added ammonia to get things going. I’ve been testing the last five days. As of today ammonia is present and between .25-.5ppm. 5-10ppm of nitrate is present. But I never saw any nitrite. I need guidance. Am I doing something wrong? I’m sure this question has been asked a million times. I just don’t want to screw anything up.

Welcome! Glad you joined. Are you using API test kits? They are notorious for false readings.

With Fritz TurboStart and live sand, you are cycled. Likely your going from ammonia into nitrite into nitrate too fast to catch any nitrite. Likely your sand cloud settled about 2 days ago.

You can pick your first fish to add. Patience is the magic in this hobby, so go slow.

This might help you find people local to you in Seattle (pretty active hobbyists up near you!) Might also find them on FaceBook in groups:

This is a good reference book type online article I still review:

This is info and links they gave me when I was new on starting Build Thread Badge: