Trident FAQ (official)

Roberto Luo

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 16, 2017
Messages
183
Reaction score
61
Whats the weight of the trident with the reagents? Since i will need a shelf to have the trident above the aquarium (aio tank no sump).
 

leepink23

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 22, 2016
Messages
1,850
Reaction score
1,361
Location
Mississippi
In the Lets Talk Reef video they said that you should absolutely not put the sample line in an area where micro-bubbles.
I saw that, which is a lot of my sump except my return section, which is where I dose. That’s why I was curious about this. Hoping a nsi or Terence will give suggestions. Thank you though!
 

Comic_Reef

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 25, 2017
Messages
282
Reaction score
240
Can you please note what the shelf life of unopened reagents is in general? Trying to figure out how far in advance I should buy new reagents
 

Keepswiming

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 23, 2013
Messages
816
Reaction score
392
Location
San diego
Can you please note what the shelf life of unopened reagents is in general? Trying to figure out how far in advance I should buy new reagents
He mentioned in the video that they are trying to keep the sales limited per individual so there isn't a "hoarding situation", and that the shelf life was about a year.
 

Comic_Reef

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 25, 2017
Messages
282
Reaction score
240
He mentioned in the video that they are trying to keep the sales limited per individual so there isn't a "hoarding situation", and that the shelf life was about a year.
Perfect, I do not plan of hoarding them, I like to stay fair minded and leave enough for everyone since I know they will be in high demand. Hope everyone has a chance to use one.
 

Salt_Creep

Member
View Badges
Joined
May 8, 2019
Messages
22
Reaction score
18
Does anyone know if there is any head lift to the waste line? I have a manifold that runs to a drain, but it is about 2 1/2 feet above where I planned to put the unit. I have left a port available just for the waste but hadn't thought about lift.
 

JimWelsh

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 5, 2011
Messages
1,322
Reaction score
1,244
Location
Angwin, CA
Does anyone know if there is any head lift to the waste line? I have a manifold that runs to a drain, but it is about 2 1/2 feet above where I planned to put the unit. I have left a port available just for the waste but hadn't thought about lift.
That will be fine.
 

JeffB418

Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 3, 2016
Messages
76
Reaction score
56
Ok here is an actual question. If you shutdown your trident for say a tank move or something. How long is the reagent still in the unit good for? I assume it’s less than the 1 year shelf life since the bottles have been opened to air.
 

dcmartinpc

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
274
Reaction score
209
Ok here is an actual question. If you shutdown your trident for say a tank move or something. How long is the reagent still in the unit good for? I assume it’s less than the 1 year shelf life since the bottles have been opened to air.
My understanding is the shelf life once opened is approximately 2 months. That is the reason for the 4/2/2 testing schedule.

Don
 

Oshengems

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 14, 2017
Messages
1,114
Reaction score
1,074
Location
Bronx, NY
Guess I’m getting the new apex meanwhile while they re stock! Super excited about this product.

Is it mandatory to test Mg ?
 

chromis

Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 29, 2017
Messages
34
Reaction score
46
Location
California
Can the Trident can be configured to test water from more than one tank ( or will there be a model with multiple inputs in the future)?

Is the Trident capable of on-demand measurement or can it only measure according to the set schedule? It would be helpful for testing water from multiple tanks on one unit to have a “measure now” function.
 

ReeferBud

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 2, 2017
Messages
249
Reaction score
189
Location
Houston
@Terence does the trident offer the programming option to test Alk at a lower frequency than 4x/day? Or is that a pre-programmed “minimum”? Thanks.
 

Juniorh2r

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
681
Reaction score
578
To begin, let's try and at least read/watch the information at the top of the post before asking questions. It will become super repetitive and arduous for us and others to keep answering the same questions over and over again.


Dispose of the waste in the same manner that you would dispose of the waste from your existing test kits.


No product like this has ever been announced.


The black tube is the intake/sample line. It cannot be cut. Neither can the waste line. This is in the FAQ above.



There is no "monthly cost." users will test at the frequency they desire and consume reagents accordingly. The recommended maintenance should not be something to get hung up on. How many other companies actually tell you this upfront in this manner. At any point. We will have a kit available for under $100 or you can send it in to us for slightly more. If you want to do the math and amortize that over 18/24/30 months that is your choice again. This is the RECOMMENDED not required service interval.

For the recommended maintenance from us, we will have a "hot-swap" type advanced replacement option. If that is not desired, setting the DOS to the mean level of the last days dosing until the new one returns should be just fine. After all, dosing requirements should not rise that much in that timeframe.

The Trident has 5 feet of sample line tubing. You can mount it above your sump level.


They are referring to the sample line.


While we understand your point, we cannot control what the Canadian government and FedEx decide to charge. Our only other option was to not have units for the Canadian market at launch. The testing schedule reasoning was explained in the FAQ and livestream today.


This is exactly the kind of post I would use as an example of unhelpful in this thread. Calling us shady is a non-starter to respond to what was likely a valid question. But for the sake of the thread I will ignore that and answer anyway.

Many (most) products do not disclose this at all to their customers in their marketing communications, let alone enumerate the costs, and almost certainly not ahead of launching the product. There are many things we have had to understand and decide on all the way up until today. This is one of them. We are not required to answer every question as they come up in forums - especially when we don't yet have an answer.

About us pulling down videos, well that was an oversight on our part, those should have been private from the outset.

As far as whether or not it was going to be brought up, if it would help quell some of that sour cynicism, I will take a pic of my outline tomorrow and post it here.

We believe we are a very open company when it comes to communications with hobbyists and enjoy engaging in forums like this. However, throwing out negative innuendo like this is not helpful in terms of us trying to get out the information sought. Please ask the questions and we will do our best to answer them.
Thank you for the replies unfortunately Theres always someone negative. And I can't wait to get it.
Question will you sale a container like the video that tells you when its full?
 

Juniorh2r

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
681
Reaction score
578
Question now how many apex dos would I need to run alk mag and cal I see theres two pumps on each so if I buy 2 that would be 4 pumps I would I have a left over one correct?
 

smartwater101

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 14, 2018
Messages
1,675
Reaction score
1,952
Location
Los Angeles
Question now how many apex dos would I need to run alk mag and cal I see theres two pumps on each so if I buy 2 that would be 4 pumps I would I have a left over one correct?
Yup yup. Although bare in mind there are things like Tropic Marine ALL-FOR-REEF that combines Alk/Calc/Mag and other elements. So depending on what dosing solution you use, you may not need 4 dose heads. It really just depends on your system.
 

ARE YOU SATISFIED WITH THE EQUIPMENT YOU HAVE RUNNING ON YOUR REEF TANK NOW?

  • Yes I'm satisfied

    Votes: 191 43.5%
  • Somewhat satisfied but I want to add more in the future

    Votes: 208 47.4%
  • No not satisfied

    Votes: 40 9.1%

Online statistics

Members online
796
Guests online
5,844
Total visitors
6,640
Motorcitycorals
Top