Venting a Swim Bladder: Black Cap Basslet

Discussion in 'Fish Disease Treatment and Diagnosis' started by Bmwm235i, Nov 1, 2015.

1. Bmwm235i

Bmwm235i Well-Known Member

I'm sure some of you have seen my last post in regards to my Black Cap from Divers Den arriving with a swim bladder issue. After not receiving any help from LA Divers Den except "we hope your fish gets better" i decided to look into venting the swim bladder. With the help from @Humblefish he directed me to some literature that i studied the best i could. The day of the procedure, when i had the fish in a glass container right before it went onto the table, it actually floated to the top and was sticking out of the water, that's how bad the swim bladder was. The first picture below is how the fish was the entire 2 weeks i had it. It would wedge its self in between the PVC so it didn't float to the top. The second picture is the fish 3 days after the procedure. I am not in the clear yet as a bacterial infection may occur at any time. My gf who recorded it accidentally hit pause on my phone so please excuse the cut in the video. I wanted to share this with everyone as there isn't much information and How To's on venting swim bladders for such small fish. Hopefully this will help somebody one day. 20151029_114027.jpg 20151101_181143.jpg

Tools Required:
    Surgical gloves
    Rubbing alcohol
    Iodine
    Q-Tips
    Clear platform with bright light for under the platform
    30 gauge insulin syringe
    Understanding of swim bladder location and organ locations.
    Clean qt tank
    General antibiotic for healing/prevention of infection. I used Maracyn Two.

Step 1: Have all the items out and ready to go, having the fish out of the water for least amount of time is best.
    Step 2: Place the fish on the clear platform, laying the fish on it's right side. (It's a good idea to have some aquarium water on the platform already.)