What do you use to check Alkalinity?

SauceyReef

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been using a Hanna, and the past year it started going way off without me noticing causing a huge tank crash this past month. I replaced the battery, reagent, and still getting wack numbers, so I imagine the device has just gone bad. I am looking to buy something new!

Any suggestions on a reliable Alkalinity tester that is not super expensive, or crazy difficult to use?

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you have a pH meter, a DIY alk test it likely cheaper and more accurate than hobby kits. All you need to buy is a standard acid.

Reeferbadness

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been using the Hanna for 4 years on both of my tanks without any real issues. Make sure you shake the reagent before using. If you get a wacky reading, try using a new reagent in case the old one has gone bad. I also have a Trident and the Hanna is typically a bit higher than the Trident reading so i just average them out. I use Hanna now only 2x a week to make sure my Trident is giving me a wack reading.

OP
OP
SauceyReef

SauceyReef

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you have a pH meter, a DIY alk test it likely cheaper and more accurate than hobby kits. All you need to buy is a standard acid.

Thank you Randy. Any good pH meters you recommend? I know Hannas has bad reviews. Seems Hanna is really hit or miss. I personally love their digital temp device.

OP
OP
SauceyReef

SauceyReef

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0