Who still does micro bubble scrubbing on their reef?

ReefStash

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
Micro bubble scrubbing has been around forever... nothing new here. I've been using this technique since 2007 and it's great for getting detritus suspended and into your filter media for removal. The idea is that the micro bubbles get into every crevice of your tank and attach to detritus causing them to float to the surface and through your overflow.

I usually do this a couple of hrs before lights off and a couple times a week. Simply place an airstone under the intake of your return pump or powerhead. Great way to oxygenate your tank as well.

Anyone else?

Last edited:

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My issue with microbubbles (sometimes incorrectly called nanobubbles by reefers) has always been the false hype and claims, but detritus removal is certainly reasonable since it is essentially enhanced skimming (IMO).

What benefits do you attribute to detritus removal?

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
13   0   0
I have for Dino eradication but try avoid doing it unless absolutely necessary

ncjeepguy75

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been battling dying green hair algae that launched a dino outbreak...Don't ask me how but whatever, right....I keep my nutrients well above zero for both nitrate = 12.6 and phosphate = .08 or just even to .1...So I turned the heat up just a tad to 81 degrees, dosed microbacter 7 and put an airstone in the tank...and here we are...2 days later and very minimal brown stringy/snotty strands...I also see this turning some of the remaining green hair algae turning gray...So maybe there is something good with bubble scrubbing for a tank...

Steve and his Animals

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0