Why don't most aquarium setups have a canopy/lid?

gfreeman

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone!

I'm new to this hobby and have been reading up heavily. I have a while to go before committing but I have one question: why don't most reef setups have a canopy or lid, with lights integrated? It seems like it would solve the evaporation issue especially in dry heated homes, and also prevent something from falling into the tank. For example, I'm leaning towards Cade Reef 1200 S2 as my first tank and surprised to find that outside of third party lids, there seem to be not many options.

PeterC99

Solarbenchmark.com
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R!

Pros and cons to the different top solutions.

Depending on your setup, canopies can capture a tremendous amount of heat and can make it difficult to access your system.

Mesh tops provide protection from dropping things in your aquarium and allow for greater air exchange but that means more evaporation.

No right or wrong answer. Really matters what’s best for your situation. Here’s my mesh top.

579AE31F-28D5-481E-B632-998743A7BD58.jpeg

Big Smelly fish

If it ain't broke, fix it till it is.
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Canopies are a nice and really make an aquarium set up look nice , I like the way they look and hide the lights. But then they also are hold in heat.
And open top allows for evaporation and helps with cooling.

Huey_Gnr

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Depending on the type of canopy, with the heat and moisture, it can start to grow microbial growth on the under side. I modified my canopy by removing the top but leaving the sides which was the best of both worlds IMO.

Attachments

• Image (009).jpeg
    Image (009).jpeg
    120.6 KB · Views: 256

The Opinionated Reefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone!