20 gal Reef Tank

Mario1403

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all,

I am new to Marine Tank and Saltwater aquariums and looking forward to share stories and learn about different techniques and tips for my 20 gal reef tank.

I'm currently having a huge problem with the Tank. All my fish (2 Clowns, 2 blue Damsels and 1 Yellow Watchman Goby) died within 32 hours. I suspect that I have Ich or Velvet infestation. The Watchman Goby and the Clowns became very pale, while the damsels show yellowish spots on them (now they are dead ).
My Hermit Crabs, Cleaner Shrimp and Snails seem to be OK, as well as my one corral I have so far in the Tank.

I've read multiple posts on this forum and found valuable information. So, I will go fallow today and wait for 76 days before adding fish to the tank again.
However, I am uncertain about the copper treatment: is it necessary to treat with copper if the tank is fallow?
Another question I had, is it sufficient to feed the corals and inverts with my pellets every 3-4 days?

Thank you in advance for the tips and help!
-M

Berlibee

.Wen Game.
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey! ;)

Welcome_ReefHacks.jpg

Peace River

Thrive Master
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Welcome to R2R!!!

Crabs McJones

I'm so shi-nay
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R!
If the fish died that fast velvet would be my guess.
To be clear the display tank goes without fish for 76 days, and all new fish are treated in a separate tank for 30 days in copper. You never want to dose copper or any other meds into your display tank. It has to be a separate tank far away from the main display that does not come into contact with the main tank.

OP
OP
M

Mario1403

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0