310g Peninsula Build

StevePhx

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Never done a build thread before but as I start my next tank, I think it's time to finally document my build and share what I'm doing.

I currently have a RSR525 that has been running for the last 2 years since I moved back to Arizona. I have been reefing for over 30 years. My first invertebrates were mushrooms that i kept alive with plant grow lights. I then went through fluorescent tubes until I found my first real reef lights, 100w 5500k MH pendants. Couple of years down the road and 200g tank with two 400w 10,000k pendants. These things were beast and could grow anything.

I was out of reefing for several years focusing on breeding cichlids for profit and a real time job that included maintaining commercial 5k systems.

Upgrading from the reefer for two reasons. 1, I'm out of room, I have way too many fish and corals already. 2. Hate the reefer stand. I have a V1 stand so no leveling feet and even though it on a concrete slab has settled way too much for my liking.

Tank - Glass Cages 60"x40"x30"
Stand - Framing Tech aluminum stand
Return - Abyzz 200 (4,400gph) run through 2x VCA 1" returns
Overflow - Synergy Ghost V2
Skimmer - Royal Exclusiv BK 250
Sump - Advanced Acrylics 50"x24"16"
Flow - 4x Mp40s on back and 2x 350fx Gyres on front (connected like Rico)
UV - Pentair 40w
Calcium Reactor - Geo's Reef 818 and 618 secondary chamber. Dosed with Ecotech Versa.
Nutrient Control - Pax Bellum ARID N24
Media - Royal Exclusiv
Live Rock - 60# Pukani rock (current rock), 80# of Marco rocks
Sand - Tropic Eden Reef Flakes
Full Apex including Trident and two DOS. 1 DOS will be AWC and the other will be aminos and Flatworm Stop
Lighting - 10x Kessil 360x and 4x Reefbrite Lumi light Pros and x2 250w MH for. RB
Salt - TM Pro

At this point the tank is ordered and paid for, all equipment listed except the skimmer is either on use on current tank or sitting in the famous pile of reef gear.