75g stock list help

Hitchhik3r

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am still learning what the different types of fish are (wrasse, blenny, goby, etc) but I have my first draft of fish I think I want. This will be in a mixed reef 75g tank.

Percula clownfish x2
Bangi Cardinalfish x2-3
Purple Firefish x1
Royal gamma x1
Flasher wrasse x1
Yellow coris wrasse x1
Shrimp/yasha goby with pistol shrimp x1
Blue hippo tang x1

Is this overzealous? Any insight is appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Petcrazyson

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well the cardinals is just really a matter of opinion. If you want a pair or trio of them go for it. They don’t move much that’s true, but hey ho, its a calm pretty looking fish. If you are looking for a peaceful fish that spends most of its time somewhat in a school, you might want to check out the Red Spot Cardinals. The stocking list looks good just remember to buy a tight lid because the goby will jump. Now Im not the tang police, therefore in my opinion and past experience, keeping a hippo tang in that sized tank is not bad short term, as long as there are ample hid places, the tank is at least 4’, have adequate tank mates, and it has a good diet. You will need to re-home the tang in a few months since they grow quickly, get really big, and aggressive. Long term not even a 6’ tank will house a full grown hippo tang. But you‘ll be able to enjoy the fish for a bit if you are set on it. Nice selection.

Janet Belanger

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Nothing scientific in my answer. Just an opinion...

I feel like the yellow coris may get too big, they're ridiculously active. I'd switch for another flasher wrasse of a different color/species. They tend to stay smaller and it's fun to watch them show off for each other.

Long term there aren't many tangs that fit into a 75. My 4ft 90g wasn't large enough for the flap and glide of the smaller (Tomini/flame fin) tang.