Complete Newb with a Biocube 32

BubblesandSqueak

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone, I'm Paul and Live in Maine, Newb to Salt Water. been reading through many posts here and also watching Youtube Videos. Always had a dream for 40+ years to have a salt water tank. Seemed really complex back then and still confused on the multitude of chemicals to adjust everything. But I want to make this happen finally.

I bought the Biocube 32 because it is all contained to hide everything since this is going in the living room and also need the cover since I have cat paws that will be interested. So far my set up has:

(the light is on only for the pictures, off to prevent algae)

*30lbs Life Rock (1/2 the height of the tank)
*40lbs Carib Bahamas live sand (~2") (and collapsed the air pockets)
*NutriSeaWater
*Aqueon Pro 150 heater
*Intank Filter with floss and Marine Pure (will add Chemipure-blue after it cycles)
*intank fuge (empty but unsure if copepods or chaeto in future)
*API Quickstart and a pinch of marine flakes food, then after a week I added Coralife Marine pure (I was waiting till intank and Marine Pure ceramic bio balls came in mail but used the stock biocube filter till then to catch any sand before it hits the pump)
*Hygger wave 951
*APC UPS 1500 (shows it will run 171 minutes when on battery in case I'm not home to run the house generator)
*magnet glass cleaner (is this tank really glass? it looks like acrylic since it has the formed edge)
*Imagitarium 20-55gal vacuum
*API Reef Testing kit with added Ammonia and Nitrite test
*magnetic defroster for food
*intank Fish Saver (why in the world would Coralife not take care of this?)