Coralife Biocube 32 lighting question

Reeferdave1960

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi this is my first post and I am new to salt water aquariums.
I am setting up a new Biocube 32 and have a question about upgrading the LEDs that come with the tank. I understand light temp and output. I measure lights for a living, intensity, beam angle and spectrum. Once my aquarium arrives (later this week) I'll take the hood to work and measure the output at different settings and see what I get. Is the purpose of the upgrades (Steve's or the others I've read about) higher par output, higher acetnic, all of the above?
I will take this set up slowly and when I start adding coral I'll start with softies and SPS. But I may want to try LPS in the future and am wondering what benefits in the upgrades I'm looking for.
Thanks for your help and all the info on this site.
Dave

tupes

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The reason most upgrade is to put a better quality led for better par, color that the person wants (different blues, add more or less white) or even add optics for more spread.

tupes

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Also, WELCOME!!! Glad to have to a part of R2R. This is a great place to start. Plenty of knowledge here and a lot of people willing to help. Looking forward to hearing how your setup goes and seeing pictures as it progresses.

OP
OP
R

Reeferdave1960

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Also, WELCOME!!! Glad to have to a part of R2R. This is a great place to start. Plenty of knowledge here and a lot of people willing to help. Looking forward to hearing how your setup goes and seeing pictures as it progresses.
Thank you!!!
I have so much to learn but enjoying the process.

tupes

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0